5 sec is all you get - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2011, 08:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default 5 sec is all you get

so my friends computer was shut off one night, normally, and the next morning it will start up as in fans spin and I can hear the hdd spin but it will only go for about 5ish seconds then off it goes nothing comes up on screen and no beeps just nothing... anything particular you can think of that I should look for? thanks
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

is the cpu fan working?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 10:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

yup
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 12:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

Possibly a bad PSU, or a shorted wire.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-24-2011, 02:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

try resetting the bios.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-26-2011, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheHumanComputer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Inside A P c
Posts: 1,181
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

Does the PC try boot up, but then restart it self?
__________________
AMD FX 9370 @ 4.4Ghz
Asus Crosshair V Formula Z
Deepcool Genome Case with Watercooling
16GB DDR3 1600Mhz
EVGA GTX 980 SC 4GB
Areocool 750W Semi Modular PSU
TheHumanComputer is offline  
Old 10-03-2011, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

changed the psu and that didn't change anything, it doesn't do anything as in the screen stays black and the cpu fan spins and the hdd spins and it does that for about 5 sec then just shuts off
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 10:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

reset the bios and that didn't do anything either, any ideas?
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 11:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

I kind of sense a RAM issue, or HDD issue. You could try to see if it is RAM to remove that possibility.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 10-15-2011, 08:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
WERTZtilitHURTZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 68
Default Re: 5 sec is all you get

I had a problem similar to this and the fans weren't spinning fast enough, causing the cpu to overheat. I see that you already mentioned that the fans were working, though. Have you tried to operate the HDD on another computer?
__________________

WERTZtilitHURTZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.