4 pin cpu power problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2007, 10:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default 4 pin cpu power problem

so today i got a new mobo (abit KN9 SLI), cpu (athlon x2 3800+) and ram (two 512 sticks of pc2 6400).

my problem is when i power on the computer it turns on for one second then turns off. but if i dont plug in the 4 pin cpu power connecter (2x2) the computer stays on but of course the cpu, hdd, cd drive, and floppy drive dont power up.

so my question is what could be causeing my computer to not boot up? i know my power supply is in good working condition and i know all the power cables are hooked up right too.

flyby257 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

List components.
Links to the Power supply and Motherboard needed.

Ste is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
King X13's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13

are you putting the connector on correctly? does your power supply have enough power for the system?

side note - i dont use amds but the couple of times ive worked on them they used the flat 1x7ish i wanna say connector and the square 4 pin is for intels??
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

mobo http://shop3.outpost.com/product/488...H:MAIN_RSLT_PG

power supply http://www.compusa.com/products/prod...1058821&ref=cj
flyby257 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 11:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3

its a 500 watt power supply and its the 4 pin connector... it should have enough power
flyby257 is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 05:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351

check the cpu fan is in correctly and working
E6300 Core 2 Duo
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default Re: 4 pin cpu power problem

Originally posted by flyby257
i know my power supply is in good working condition
You know this how? BTW who talked you into that .......psu?
Sui is offline  
Old 01-14-2007, 09:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453

what are the colors of the wires on the 2x2 connector. if two are yellow and two are black the goe to the mainboard. I did not know that AMD used the extra power connector. Now having said that , it is possible to have another 2 x 2. Alot of the new mainboards take the extended power connector that the end will detach so you can connect it to older ATX mainbords.

LA1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.