4 Gb sony flash memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default 4 Gb sony flash memory

Hello everybody,
i have a problem with my flash memory.
It is inserted in the usb port, it is recognized as a removable drive (E), but when i try to acces it, it says "Please insert a disk into drive E:"
Seeing this, I tried to format it, but it said: "There is no disk in drive E. Insert a disk and than try again."
Is there any program or something so I can format it, or is there anything I can do to make it work?

many thanks.
__________________

back is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 09:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Where did you get the memory card from?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Hello Alvin.C

The memory was bought from China, so I can't give it back
back is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

Where exactly? Did you buy it over eBay (where it was shipped from China)...or did you buy it from a shop in china?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

My friend was in China on holydays and he bought it from a shop. It was realy cheap, so if I can't make it work, no problem, but if there is a way to fix it, why not?
back is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

I can guarantee that it is fake...especially if your friend got it cheap...from China.

Do you still have the packaging?

I'm looking for an article about fake Sony memory cards. It's a big thing.

Pro Duo is it...?
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Default

no, I don't have the packaging.
I don't care if it' fake or not (I think for 6 $ can't be original )
But if there is a way to make it work (it did for 1 month) I'd appriciate your help.

thanks
back is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

...answer is no .
__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5
Smile

thanks anyway.
I'll be BACK if I have any other problems
back is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 06:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Hmm looking at my real 4GB Sony Flash drive right now. They have a 5 digit sticker on the bottom, Sony and Micro Vault on the cap, Sony Corportation ithe three symbols, the numbering D330221 and something that looks like a huge C E along with USB 2.0, and an eight digit letter/number code on slim side. Hey for $6 you didn't lose too much if you didn't have important data on it. I don't really care for even the real one.
__________________

__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.