4 bit color 640 X 640 -CANT CHANGE. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2009, 09:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default 4 bit color 640 X 640 -CANT CHANGE.

Hello. My computer had been acting funny lately so i had it reformatted. I installed all the drivers and it was working fine. As i was playing Counter Strike Source it all of a sudden froze. I restarted my computer and i found that i could not change the resolution or bit color. I reformatted my computer again and reinstalled my drivers. It still hasn't changed and im wondering if theres any way i can fix it.

I have a Pentium D 2.66ghz
Windows XP Service pack 2.
Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS.
If you need any more info please ask.

Edit-- Found out my moniter was on VGASAVE mode if thats important.
__________________

joocool is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 09:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
It's all just 1s and 0s
 
office politics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: in the lab
Posts: 6,555
Send a message via MSN to office politics
Default Re: 4 bit color 640 X 640 -CANT CHANGE.

i'd play around with the monitor driver.

boot into safe mode uninstall all monitor drivers.

p-np should reinstall on next boot.

update if necessary

tweak settings
__________________

office politics is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 10:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 4 bit color 640 X 640 -CANT CHANGE.

I have a korean XP so its a bit hard for me to navigate around. Could you tell me where to get to the moniter drivers? Is it in the add/remove or the device managers?
joocool is offline  
Old 04-13-2009, 11:51 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: 4 bit color 640 X 640 -CANT CHANGE.

Why exactly do you have a Korean version of XP when you don't know Korean?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default Re: 4 bit color 640 X 640 -CANT CHANGE.

I know korean its just i dont understand most of the korean meanings.
joocool is offline  
Old 04-14-2009, 05:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: 4 bit color 640 X 640 -CANT CHANGE.

Your video card or your monitor is almost dead. Try a different monitor and see if you can change the resolution. Or you can try a different video card, either or will work for troubleshooting.
__________________

Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
Difference Between 32 Bit (x86) and 64 Bit (x64) KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 30 08-29-2009 09:05 AM
640 GB Drive showing as 127 GB? commandercup Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-28-2008 06:50 PM
64 Bit AMD Processor with 32 Bit Vista FlapJack Laptops and Notebooks 4 03-07-2008 04:39 PM
Vista 32 bit vs 64 bit Mandingo Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 02-22-2008 11:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.