4 of 4 DVDs Failed: Whats wrong? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default 4 of 4 DVDs Failed: Whats wrong?

I just got a new NEC DVD burner from newegg.com. Before I installed it I had 2 stock(Dell) drives ...a DVD player and a CD burner. Both were installed with CSEL. So, I installed the new NEC DVD burner in place of the Dell DVD player with the same settings in CSEL and hooked up the wires exactly the same. Then I updated the firmware immediately.

So far 4 of 4 DVDs have failed. I have tried Sonic/Nero 6/Windows drag-and-drop. I tried burning off of an external hard drive as well as my stock internal hard drive.

I was able to burn 10 DVD's on my parents computer which came with a DVD burner.

What's the problem?
__________________

Midnight is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:30 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The hard drive may be too slow and doesn't privide a data stream fast enouph through the entire burn.

Try turning off all the programs you don't need and other ones that could access the hard drive.

Then try burning at a low speed and DO NOT do anything else until the burn completes.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 11:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

dma might be disabled,see this guide http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=101616 and if youll see "pio" in "current transfer mode" after its enabled then check dma settings in the bios and if its fine there then right click each ide channel and click "uninstall" and restart , its very possible that it dislikes the medias your using i suggest youll get taiyo yuden medias their the best quality and have perfect compatibility among drives
usa - http://www.rima.com / http://www.supermediastore.com
europe - http://www.svp.co.uk / http://www.digitalpromo.co.uk
canada - http://www.blankdvdmedia.com / http://blankmedia.ca / http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...x=0&image1.y=0
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

I tried burning at slower speeds (2x). The write process seems to work but the File Verification process at the ends fails now.

I checked for the DMA and I already had them selected.

I don't know why the hard drive would have difficulty keeping up. The CD burner writes at much faster speeds and I haven't had any failures with that drive.

I will try different media though. Never heard of Taiyo Yuden though. I just normally use something like Verbatim or Memorex.

Thanks guys.
Midnight is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

have you tried changing your burning software? Also, it seems like cirtain burners only like using cirtain brands of media. My hypermedia burner is like that. One type of brand, it will burn collectly every time. I switched brands, once, and every single burn I tried failed. Swtich back to the old brand, and it worked perfectly fine again.
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

The hard drive has to cache a lot more data for a DVD than for a CD.

Taiyo Yuden manufactures for other companies most of the time.
turtile is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

I just got one of them to complete with no errors. I think it was because I had little space on my hard drive left ...maybe 2.5GB, while trying to burn 4.4GB of media? 2 of them burned fully but had a File Verification error on 1 file. I checked the files after and they worked fine even though the program said there was an error. I will try some more now that the hard drive has more space.

Thanks guys.
Midnight is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 12:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 333
Default

Looks like you figured it out. Not having available space is definitely a problem. If you are that close to maxing out your hard drive space, then there are other programs that are not running at their best also.
__________________
3 different OS, so yep I\'m confused.
m3incorp is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

Awesome. I will try another burn tonight to verify that the problem is resolved. I prematurely processed an RMA with newegg.com. I have to find out how to cancel that now
Midnight is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 08:47 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Default

I'm using Nero 6 Smart Start. Burn process will complete, but only at 2x. File verification failed all 25 of 25 just now? I can't afford to buy new burning software. I can try other media though.
__________________

Midnight is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.