359Mb used on empty 1Gb jump drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2006, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 90
Question 359Mb used on empty 1Gb jump drive

I have been using a 1 Gb Scan disk jump drive for about a year now and had no problem with it. Today, I plug it into my computer and it shows that 359Mb is used even though there is nothing on it. I made sure hidden files are shown on my computer, but can not find anything on it. I plugged it into my work laptop and it shows the same thing. I do not want to format it because I do not know how that would affect the jump drive. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

godai73 is offline  
Old 07-03-2006, 07:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207

A format shouldn't do any harm to it unless directions say not to. I think it is just file fragments from deletes.

poorman is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 12:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hey

Yes format it.You should format it every once in a while.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-04-2006, 04:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

just do a quick format, not a full format
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 07-05-2006, 11:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan

You could have hidden files turned off in your operating system....
In windows, its under folder option.
In mac, there is a terminal command, but tinkertool is better...
I use kde, so i dont know much about how to make it show in gnome....i suggest using ls -laf....

If that is not the case, then there is currrupt data on your memory device. There is high probablility that your memory device uses substandard korean memory chips, as in the case of XD cards.

If you want to recover that data, there is some software that will allow you to recover the damaged files.

Otherwise, just format it.
The problem is that this could be cascade failure, and this may not be the first time your gonna get this error....
shdwsclan is offline  
Old 07-06-2006, 12:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

This happens to my thumb drives after a while, I believe it's just fragments or maybe hidden files, etc. Just do the Quick Format and you'll be fine in about 5 seconds. Formatting with FAT (rather than FAT32 or NTFS) for thumdrives seems to makes this kind of thing occur much less frequently, I've found.

Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.