300W enough for a new fan? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2008, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default 300W enough for a new fan?

I'm looking into buying a new case fan that connects to my power supply of my PC, but I'm not sure if my PSU already has enough in it.

This is my computer right here:
HP Pavilion a730n Desktop PC - Product Specifications

I currently have this slot fan connected to my PSU:
Antec.com - Specialty
http://www.antec.com/pdf/supercyclone.pdf

I'm planning to buy either of these case fans, but again, I'm not sure if my PSU already has enough connected to it.
Anitec.ca - Antec PRO 80MM DBB Clear 80mm Double Ball Bearing Fan
Anitec.ca - Antec TRICOOL 80 3-Speed 80mm Fan
Anitec.ca - Scythe Kama Flex 80mm (2,500rpm) Fan


Or, then again, I can just connect the fan to my MOBO, but will either of the fans work with mine?
__________________

vertigo93 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

All three of those fans plug onto the board directly. typically prebuilt systems come with "wimpy" supplies for covering only what is included. Adding one of those in would be no great drain on power while a 350w model supply should be available from HP.

300 or 301w supplies are simply wimpy these days. Rear slot fans for the most are simply added clutter since those seem to move far less air then a good case fan. I would avoid Scythe however.

I almost cooked a cpu on one build when the cheapo fan on a Scythe cpu cooler quit suddenly seeing the cpu get to 85C! Antec on the other hand makes good reliable fans while some complain that they are noisey? The ones used here on different builds are always quiet for some reason.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 08:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

It's enough as fans don't take that much power.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 09:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

So I'm OK if I add another one of those fans to my PSU even if I have one fan already in?
vertigo93 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 09:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

Yes..
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 09:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

Anitec.ca - Scythe Kama Flex 80mm (2,500rpm) Fan

I'm leaning more over to this fan, and I'm wondering if its the same deal if I stick it into the MOBO istead of the PSU
vertigo93 is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

It doesn't matter as long as you have an open fan header on the mobo. It's not gonna draw more power or anything.
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 03-21-2008, 10:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

Case fans in general don't draw on amps like you would see with a video or sound card, drives, and other devices. You could have a case full of fans and still not draw anywhere near what the rest of the system would.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 03-22-2008, 01:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default Re: 300W enough for a new fan?

No need to look at RPM of the fan, you need to look at the CFM, how much air the fan actually moves. I prefer Masscool fans, they seem the most reliable for the most part and you can find em cheap as dirt sometimes.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question regarding TT Armor 25cm side fan. manowar Overclocking and Modding 1 02-11-2008 04:05 AM
Compaq Presario V2000 CPU Fan mpumas Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-19-2008 07:04 PM
Tuniq fan not spinning Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-11-2008 12:30 PM
Lower Video Card noise by reducing the fan speed Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 01-01-2008 12:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.