3+ Monitors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-06-2006, 11:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Default 3+ Monitors

Hey guys,

I just bought two new LCD screens, and I was wanting to use the two in conjunction with my old monitor. Currently I have a PCI express graphics card, and had hoped that it would be a simple matter of just adding any old PCI card into the system...Windows gives error code 10, and says the device could not start. I presume this is because the pci express card is using the address the pci card wants seeing as drivers see PCI express as PCI and dont care how fast its running. I have a second pci express slot if that would solve my problem, of course its only a four lane since im using the one on 16.

Any ideas? Id like to avoid the whole using a second computer to remotely drive it deal.

JaredWoolston is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 06:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

I've had upto 3 PCI graphics cards in the same comp before now with absolutly no problems.

What you are attempting should work ok, try using a different PCI slot.

Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 08:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to kirkmears Send a message via Yahoo to kirkmears

try booting with just the PCI vid card to see what happens...
PW5 64, E6300@2.8, X1900XT, (5) 74GB RAPTORs, 2GB Corsair XMS800, ATI HDTV Wonder, DELL 30\"
kirkmears is offline  
Old 03-07-2006, 09:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Set PCI-Express to the primary graphics interface in your BIOS, or PCI if that won't work.
Or try different PCI slot like MrCoffee mentioned.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.