3 Modules Fail at the Same Time? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2007, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default 3 Modules Fail at the Same Time?

Hey guys,

My comp started failing about 4-5 days ago and I tested everything and concluded that the memory controller on my mobo was done. One stick of ram worked in only slot 3. Sounds like a controller problem right? Well I thought that as well. Got my new motherboard yesterday and hooked it all back up again and now only one of my four gigs works at all! At least now it works in any slot so I know for sure that it's the RAM.

Has anyone heard of 3 modules failing at the exact same time? My guess would be that the bad mobo corrupted them but I don't really know. I don't know if theres a way to solve this or if I have to RMA something for the second time this week...
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: 3 Modules Fail at the Same Time?

seems pretty weird...have you tried nudging up the nb vcore? Most times you need to when running 4x1gb
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 3 Modules Fail at the Same Time?

Did you get a power surge at any point?
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:33 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: 3 Modules Fail at the Same Time?

Well I don't think it would be a surge since I have it hooked up to a 1500VA protector. Also I forgot to mention that the way I know it's failing is because 680i has that hex error code. The system refuses to boot with any other module. It either says 1D or sometimes gets to C1 which are both memory problems.

I've searched this and it seems that the exact same thing happens to everyone. Not the part about 3 DIMMs failing but about the mobo/ram combination. I turned my computer off at night and try to turn it on in the morning and that happens. I'll try upping the voltage with my one good stick and see if I can get another to boot.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-09-2007, 12:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 3 Modules Fail at the Same Time?

Ya most boards come with the voltage set to 1.8V and most DDR is spec'd for 2.0-2.2V.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 02:17 AM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: 3 Modules Fail at the Same Time?

OK I figured it out and it was the voltage. I don't know what my board was thinking but it thought the CPU should get 1.6 volts of power!!! Guess it just wasn't overheating because of my watercooling. Mem was only set 1.75v. I upped the NB core and mem and it is working perfect! Thanks for the help guys.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-10-2007, 10:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: 3 Modules Fail at the Same Time?

Wow...1.6v. I'm afraid to push more than 1.475v into mine. And even at that voltage i was idling at over 50c Thats odd though that the memory voltage is set so low by default. Nice ram timing btw.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time keeps getting messed up kileak Laptops and Notebooks 10 09-23-2007 05:25 PM
Time for a new monitor? Captain Murphy New Systems | Building and Buying 15 09-04-2007 01:18 PM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM
Unique World's First Shipping Time Based Comparison Shopping pdqdeals Microsoft Windows and Software 1 04-09-2007 04:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.