3 hard drives what array? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2007, 03:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default 3 hard drives what array?

okay heres my problem, I have been running 2 hard drives striped (raid 0) both are western digital raptors. I just bought another hard drive for more space... basically a storage drive so i can keep just the OS on the striped HDD. The new hard drive is a WD caviar 7200 HDD. My question is what should i run without losing performance would i run a raid 0 + 1? Any help is greatly appreciated.
__________________

BennyB is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 01:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default Re: 3 hard drives what array?

bump...
__________________

BennyB is offline  
Old 09-19-2007, 02:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: 3 hard drives what array?

you need a mininum of 3 drives for raid 0+1
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 03:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 14
Default Re: 3 hard drives what array?

ya i have 3 hard drives 2 are WD raptors the other one a WD caviar
BennyB is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 07:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 94
Default Re: 3 hard drives what array?

Yes, you need to run RAID 0 + 1 for that.
jakebrick is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 03:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: 3 hard drives what array?

I'm not sure RAID 0+1 is what you want.

If you just want the drive for storage, you don't need a RAID array for it. Just run it by itself and keep the Raptors in RAID 0.

EDIT: By the way, you need four drives for RAID 0+1, not three.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 11:42 PM
Which hard drives are compatible with the ABIT NF7-S motherboard? Herringtrader Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-19-2007 02:28 AM
IDE Hard Drives objecterror Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 5 07-14-2007 01:22 AM
When will 10,000 rpm hard drives be standard? macdawg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-28-2007 03:22 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.