217GB Formatted from 250GB SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2006, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default 217GB Formatted from 250GB SATA

This harddrive only formats to ~217GB. Its listed as a 250GB harddrive and even shows up on BIOS as one, but in windows its a 217GB one. How can I fix this?
__________________

septoid2 is offline  
Old 04-12-2006, 10:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Have you check disk manager to see if there are any space left over that are unallocated? Try using Maxtor Big Drive enabler (assuming this was a maxtor drive from your sig)
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 12:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

it should format to around about 232GiB. are you sure you partitioned it correctly?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 01:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Yea that sounds a bit off for sure you will NOT get 250GB, but it should be around 235GB give or take.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 04-15-2006, 11:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Maxtor Big Drive enabler?? Yeah this is the HD from my sig :P
septoid2 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 11:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

It's a little application from Maxtor that fixes the 137 barrier by modifing the registry. However I don't know if it'll fix your problem, but I would give it a try to see if it'll help.
Law is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 11:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Nope.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I think the only solution left is to try and format it again.
Law is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 05:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

update the bios it might resolve it
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-17-2006, 07:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jeremy
update the bios it might resolve it
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.