2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2011, 04:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 32
Default 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

hello i have two hard drives i got a ssd and then an internal one. They both are getting detected but when i go to my computer it only comes up with my disk drive and my SSD my internal harddrive i cant find there... any help?
__________________

CarlH67 is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 08:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

So is your OS on your solid state drive? Have you ever been able to access your internal one?

If its a new drive it needs to be formatted for windows to recognize it.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 09:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

You have to initilize it also. You need to go into Computer Management.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 32
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

i never been able to use it..i only just relised now i can't access it...i gone to computer management and it shows the internal harddrive there. what do you want me to do?
CarlH67 is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

If it is not formatted, you right click that drive on the bottom panel, choose format, and format it to NTFS.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 32
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

i think its already been formatted then because i dont get that option
CarlH67 is offline  
Old 04-12-2011, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

Does it say "initialize" or something? Show us a screenshot of what comes up when you right click on it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 04:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 32
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

CarlH67 is offline  
Old 04-13-2011, 09:00 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: 2 harddrives how to access the 2nd one

You are right clicking the wrong part of the disk. Don't right click where it says disk 1, right click in the white part below that long black bar. As MM said the drive either needs to be formatted and/or initialized.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WD harddrives which one? raverx3m New Systems | Building and Buying 6 01-28-2008 11:08 PM
2 harddrives ITZBVAN005 System Upgrades 2 01-25-2006 09:15 PM
2 harddrives slowcomp System Upgrades 6 11-24-2005 09:31 PM
3 Harddrives! GrimReaper23 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 02-23-2005 06:38 PM
Two Harddrives act as one? Can it be done? vector_anomaly Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 20 11-30-2004 01:36 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.