1TB Network HDD failure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-23-2009, 01:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default 1TB Network HDD failure

Hey guys, am new to this forum

I have a dilemma and need some help... my 1TB EXT Network WD HDD recently failed, the HDD was fine but it doesn't power up. I need to recover my data (there is about 400GB of data on there) and need to back it all up to my other 1TB USB one. Does anyone know how to do it? I would appreciate it if someone could shed some light, thanks!

Pic of my HDD is below, just incase you are wondering which one it is:

__________________

MAMBO04 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 01:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

Are you able to take it out of the enclosure, hook it up to a computer internally, and back the data up that way?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-23-2009, 02:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

Problem is i am not sure how to open the enclosure as WD don't tell you (even though they say that the drive inside is replaceable if you want to exchange the old one with a new one)

I can't see any ways of opening it, but there must be a way to open it, i'm just not sure where to start.

It can be hooked up to a PC internally, just need to figure out how to do this all

thanks for your reply!
MAMBO04 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

Are there any screws on the outside? Or are there any seams that you can pry into on the plastic shell? Maybe try contacting WD about it (if they're open for customer support today).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-23-2009, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

Yeah no screws at all on the outside. I could pry into the plastic (seems possible) but it could snap, so not doing anything drastic for now.

Yeah i might as well do that, they're shut now but can tomorrow, thing is this is only a month old and sucks that it's failed, so it's still in warranty. Shame they don't provide data recovery for free, with such an expensive product. PCWorld is asking for £100 if i want to recover my data, which is worth a new 1TB, so not worth it.

I might take it down the road to my local repair shop and see what they can do.
MAMBO04 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

I know on my model the screws are under some rubber feet and the serial label.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 03:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

awesome i just got a clue, thanks for that!

took two of the rubber pads off, there are two buttons inside, which i'm assuming lets you open the case

DONE! i opened it there were hidden latches inside, i also got them open, took a lot of power tho, but it's open

Can anyone guide me in installing this internally?

EDIT dw no need, i have ordered a USB 2.0 to SATA cable and it should be coming on monday, and i can then hook it to my laptop, transfer all of the data across and then join it back together, send it off to WD and get my new one

Thanks for all your help!
MAMBO04 is offline  
Old 05-23-2009, 06:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

Glad you were able to get it open. Hopefully you're able to recover your data off. Good luck.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 05-27-2009, 07:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

Thanks CarnageX I have another problem though (sorry!)

i got the SATA to USB cable today and it works with all of my other harddrives, except one... my network HDD

thing is when i try to power it up (everythings plugged in at this moment), the light flickers and shuts (from the adaptor). whenever i turn the switch on and off it just flickers, meaning no power is going to the HDD. I have a feeling that this HDD may need more power because it also has a built in LED on the side which is not useful atm... any suggestions?

thanks
MAMBO04 is offline  
Old 05-27-2009, 07:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: 1TB Network HDD failure

hook it up directly to your computer.
If it is not a laptop.
Use the sata power from your psu and connect directly to your motherboard.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet connection sharing behind a router KSoD Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 03-01-2016 11:32 AM
Start Failure - Win XP SATA HDD with SATA DVD re-writer petersforster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 11-28-2008 05:57 PM
Win XP Start failure with SATA HDD & SATA DVD re-writer petersforster Microsoft Windows and Software 1 11-22-2008 08:56 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.