160 gb iPod classic not showing up in my computer or itunes - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-26-2011, 01:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default 160 gb iPod classic not showing up in my computer or itunes

I just got a 160 gb ipod classic. I'm very familiar with itunes and ipods, as this is my second one due to a burglary. I'm running Windows Vista, and when I plug in my ipod, it says the drivers are installed correctly and when I look in the device manager, nothing seems to be out of the ordinary. But nothing shows up in my computer and itunes won't run until i unplug the ipod or unless it was open previous to plugging in the ipod. The ipod screen shows the connected screen but I get no response on my computer. I've tried resetting the ipod, trying in disk mode, reinstalling itunes, and restarting my computer. Nothing works. Weird thing is, I use the same cord on my sister's computer and everything works. She's running Windows 7. The thing I really don't understand is that everything with my previous ipod worked on my computer before. HELP!
__________________

britt2408 is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 160 gb iPod classic not showing up in my computer or itunes

Go into Control Panel -> Administration Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management. If you see it in the lower pane, right click it and go to "change drive letter and path". There may be a letter conflict.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 11:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
Default Re: 160 gb iPod classic not showing up in my computer or itunes

I cannot even go to disk management while the ipod is plugged in. It's as if it's frozen. Once I unplug the iPod, everything shows up but obviously not the ipod.
britt2408 is offline  
Old 12-26-2011, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: 160 gb iPod classic not showing up in my computer or itunes

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Go into Control Panel -> Administration Tools -> Computer Management -> Disk Management. If you see it in the lower pane, right click it and go to "change drive letter and path". There may be a letter conflict.
Give this a read and see if that will help before following minds instructions.
Also like most media devices, turn it off completely, reboot your pc for a fresh start.
Turn on your ipod and plug it in and wait for windows to detech and let you access it.

Ipod Classic 80GB Freezes iTunes (Need to restore) ;( plz help. - iLounge Forums
-RockMan- is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Ipod Classic 160GB uzi9mm Computer Audio and Multimedia 7 01-27-2010 02:15 AM
80 GB Zune or iPod Classic? Rawan AbuSalman Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 10 08-15-2008 10:59 AM
6G iPod classic won't show in my computer or itunes chickfilafan Microsoft Windows and Software 3 06-15-2008 09:22 AM
Zune2 or Ipod Classic? JoltFTW Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 15 02-16-2008 12:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.