1440x900 Res Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2006, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default 1440x900 Res Monitor

I bought a new monitor with 1440x900 res. My graphics card does not support that. I have a Rage 128 Pro AGP 4x TMDS. Is there an update that i can get for this, or what are my options?
All help is most welcome

TonyF is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
Alvin.C's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,578


What monitor do you have?

Make sure that the monitor driver for your monitor (as well as the graphics driver) is installed.

You can check what monitor driver is installed, and change the monitor driver, by going to Control Panel > System > Hardware tab > Device Manager > Monitors...

...Right click the monitor and click Properties to find out what monitor driver has been installed.

The monitor driver provides information to the system about what resolutions, color depths and refresh rates the monitor supports. It's usually obtainable from the manufacturer's website of the monitor. Since 1440 x 900 isn't a standard resolution, you won't be able to use any of the generic monitor drivers provided with Windows XP.


|Desktop PC| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 8.1 Pro (x64)| |AMD FX 4100 Black Edition 3.6 GHz @ 4.0 GHz OC| |Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 PRO| |Gigabyte Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 Super Overclock 1GB| |ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD SATA III HDD| |Kingston HyperX 8GB PC3-14900 DDR3-1866| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default HP 19w Widescreen LCD

Thanks for that. The driver is an HP driver, however there is still no option of 1440x900 showing in the display section of the control panel. I think it must be the graphics card.
TonyF is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706

right click on the desktop

click properties>settings>advanced

under the adaptor tab, click list all modes... you should be able to select what you need

if not... click on the monitor tab, and uncheck "hide modes that this monitor cannot display"
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 10:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Jorsoft's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581

1440x900 is widescreen, are you sure a card this old (rage 128 pro) supports this? Try getting the newest drivers for it via ATI's site if you haven't already.
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.