1440x900 Res Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2006, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default 1440x900 Res Monitor

I bought a new monitor with 1440x900 res. My graphics card does not support that. I have a Rage 128 Pro AGP 4x TMDS. Is there an update that i can get for this, or what are my options?
All help is most welcome
__________________

__________________
TonyF is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 01:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: London
Posts: 2,581
Default

Hello,

What monitor do you have?

Make sure that the monitor driver for your monitor (as well as the graphics driver) is installed.

You can check what monitor driver is installed, and change the monitor driver, by going to Control Panel > System > Hardware tab > Device Manager > Monitors...



...Right click the monitor and click Properties to find out what monitor driver has been installed.

The monitor driver provides information to the system about what resolutions, color depths and refresh rates the monitor supports. It's usually obtainable from the manufacturer's website of the monitor. Since 1440 x 900 isn't a standard resolution, you won't be able to use any of the generic monitor drivers provided with Windows XP.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C

Desktop PC Build 2 - Mini ITX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Xeon E3-1230 v5 @ 3.4 GHz | Zotac NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Mini | ARCTIC Freezer 11 LP CPU Cooler | ASUS P10S-I Mini ITX Server Motherboard | Global Memory 32GB DDR4-2133 ECC RAM | Kingston SSDNow UV400 128GB SSD + 2x128GB SSD RAID 0 | Corsair SF600 600W SFX Modular PSU | SilverStone Milo ML08 Mini ITX Case (with carry handle) |


Desktop PC Build 1 - Micro ATX
| Windows 10 Pro (x64) | Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz | MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X | Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler | Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 Micro ATX Motherboard | Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-2133 RAM | Samsung 840 PRO 256GB SSD + 2x500GB SSD RAID 0 | Seasonic Platinum Fanless 520W Modular PSU | NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case |
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Default HP 19w Widescreen LCD

Thanks for that. The driver is an HP driver, however there is still no option of 1440x900 showing in the display section of the control panel. I think it must be the graphics card.
__________________
TonyF is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 02:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

right click on the desktop

click properties>settings>advanced

under the adaptor tab, click list all modes... you should be able to select what you need

if not... click on the monitor tab, and uncheck "hide modes that this monitor cannot display"
__________________
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 08-28-2006, 10:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

1440x900 is widescreen, are you sure a card this old (rage 128 pro) supports this? Try getting the newest drivers for it via ATI's site if you haven't already.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.