12v power on 4 pin? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2007, 11:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Default 12v power on 4 pin?

hey im just asking if i could use the yellow 12v wire on a pc 4 pin molex(like to power the cd drives or harddrives) to power a linksys router? like soldering the wires under the ac plug of the router?
__________________

samuraiwarrior is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 01:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: 12v power on 4 pin?

why not plug it to the wall? do you want to keep it in your case?
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 04-25-2007, 02:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: 12v power on 4 pin?

In theory, you could. But you have to make sure that there is enough amps for the router. The next question, is why?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 03:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Default Re: 12v power on 4 pin?

please help me to get it to power it im putting it in a custom project im building with an xbox.. completely rebuild a custom case out of acrylic and i want to intergrate my old linksys router for lan system link usage and such.
samuraiwarrior is offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 08:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default Re: 12v power on 4 pin?

Well if you really want to do this, I would say you have to find out the power requirements for the router and anything else you want to hook up to a power supply. You might find the power requirements on the underside of the router or on the power brick.

If you have enough power to run it off of your PSU, then you have to connect power from the molex to the inside of the router. This would probably involve some soldering knowledge of circuit boards.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 12:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Exclamation Re: 12v power on 4 pin?

can someone please point me toward an example or tutorial on this? a way to supply the same voltage and amp. into the router as if it were connected to the ac adapter....but instead powered by the pc'c psu. and the power supply is 200 watts so it should have no problem powering the router. any ideas?
__________________

samuraiwarrior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Power supply Guide (2008) Ste New Systems | Building and Buying 223 12-12-2009 09:05 PM
power AC adapter with PC power supply? samuraiwarrior Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-23-2007 12:54 PM
NO power up at all. -Read- baseballfreakjc25 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-16-2007 03:13 PM
Really Weird Power Boot Problem i_am_a_robot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-10-2007 08:13 AM
just changed power supply, weird harddrive problem (sata) idrisguitar Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-31-2007 11:47 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.