108GB taken up??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2006, 12:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Calibretto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 133
Default 108GB taken up???

Ok well my friend bought a Maxtor 250GB refurbished hard drive. He installed XP and then went to look at how much space was being taken up. It says 108GB are taken up!! He scanned for errors and did a defrag but no luck. Is there a way to fix this besides the fact that it's refurbished?
__________________

__________________
- Gigabyte P35-S3G
- Q6600 @ 2.40GHz | Cooler Master GeminII
- 4GB OCZ Platinum @ 800MHz
- XFX 9800GT | Zalman VF1000 Cooler
- Antec Three Hundred Case | Antec NeoPower 380W PSU
- Acer 22" Widescreen LCD (1680x1050)

- Best 3DMark06 Score: 15109

PM me when you have read this.
Calibretto is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 12:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Maybe there is old junk on it, did you format the whole drive?
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Calibretto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 133
Default

I doubt there was old junk on it. There wasn't even an OS on it to begin with. And no he didn't format it.
__________________
- Gigabyte P35-S3G
- Q6600 @ 2.40GHz | Cooler Master GeminII
- 4GB OCZ Platinum @ 800MHz
- XFX 9800GT | Zalman VF1000 Cooler
- Antec Three Hundred Case | Antec NeoPower 380W PSU
- Acer 22" Widescreen LCD (1680x1050)

- Best 3DMark06 Score: 15109

PM me when you have read this.
Calibretto is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

Is the drive partitioned?
Try checking different directories to see what is taking up the space.
Also, the drive could have been a storage drive before thus not needing an OS on it.
brinks is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 01:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

If there is more than one partition, it still would not show 108 gigs of usage on the partition he was viewing. Since he did not format the drive, it may have addtional info from a previous install. Download MAxBlast utilites from the web and use that utility to make sure the entire drive is designated for use on XP. It sounds to me like the dirve is only being read at the 137 gig limit.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.