Z-5500 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 09:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default Z-5500

I'm setting up my Z-5500 and I am having trouble getting all the speakers to work. Im pretty sure its the cables and the connections. Has anyone had this problem I only have 2 working the center and left rear. Any tips would be great.
__________________

reckliss is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 762
Send a message via AIM to Cdub89
Default

Its logitech thats ur problem



Hmm my friend had the same problem he had to take it back. Im not sure if thats the case tho.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Members/ClayKann101/?from=1" ><img src="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" _fcksavedurl="http://www.sponsorhouse.com/Assets/Promote/athletes/b400x65.gif" alt="View Clay Kann's Profile" border="0" /></a>
Cdub89 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
KingAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 673
Send a message via AIM to KingAustin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cdub89
Its logitech thats ur problem



Hmm my friend had the same problem he had to take it back. Im not sure if thats the case tho.
Logitech is a great company, not sure what you're talking about. Anyway, try plugging your speakers in to the different spots on the sub which do work just to make sure all of the plugs and speakers work correctly. If they do, then it's your system's speaker settings. Let us know which it is after you tested your speakers.

EDIT: As a little side note, I only have the green wire plugged in to my audigy 2zs and I get all the sounds equally as well as having all plugged in, so I'm not sure why they include the yellow and black..
__________________
E6300 w/ AF7 Pro 3.11ghz
Gigabyte DS3
2GB G.Skill DDR2 800
7900GT w/ Zalman vf900 650/800
Z-5500 Digital Speakers
22" Chimei + 19" BENQ
XClio 3060
KingAustin is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Hmm this topic scares me. I have the same sound card. Well, when I was plugging in my speakers into the card, I had a similar problem. The wrong sounds were coming out of the wrong speakers. For an example, one of my speakers was trying to put out lows while my sub was trying to do mids. All I had to do however was start reversing cords into different plugs in the back of my sound card, until the right sounds came out the right speakers.

Try that. Just start plugging different cords into different jacks and see if it works.

Good luck with the Z-5500s. I'll be ordering mine next week.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 11:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i had 0 problems install my z-5500's into my system, and i too have an x-fi

its most likely a problem in your x-fi settings, that happened to mine once before, but i got it fixed by messing with all the settings, i have mine on regular surround, not xround or something like that....

i'll check my settings when i get home tonite
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 566
Send a message via AIM to reckliss
Default

anything on x-fi settings nos?
reckliss is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Yeah you just gotta plug it in right.

Took me awhile to get it right on my XFI with my logitech.

Put it to 6 Channel Direct, and do sound Diagnostics.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

ah... i'm sorry i didnt even go home last night, but i'll be there for sure, my bad..... lemme know if you figured it out yet or not
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 262
Default

I have the same setup. No problems here.

Make sure the switch is set to Direct.
__________________
viperman5000 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

and my sound is always on 6 CH, on the z-5500 console
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.