your start up times? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2006, 04:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Disillusion's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810

5 seconds.

No, actually, it's probably about 30-45 seconds. I have lots of programs in my taskbar that I load up. But, I use them all so I keep them there. I usually never shutdown my computer anyway.

CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 04:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
aj2003's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094

my laptop is faster than my desktop even though the laptop only has a 4200rpm drive vs 2 raptors in raid0. But that is because the it takes about 10-15 seconds for my motherboard to sort out the 2 raid arrays whilst the laptop just doesnt. So i know my desktop gives much better performance than the laptop so really its not a good test.

But saying that i can have both of them up and working in about 25-30 seconds because i have next to no start up programs.

AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 04:53 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Spartan's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 814

19 seconds

But then, i dont run anything at startup
Spartan is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 204

16 seconds. I also do not run anything at startup.
3xistenc3 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417

16 seconds, wow thats crazy :amazed:
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

23 seconds, full boot. I've timed it with a watch, not 'one mississippi' style.


<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource:
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH

um like 2 minutes, its an almost fresh install of windows, less then 30 days with raid 0 and its so freakin slow at the Windows XP part, its pretty fast everywhere else but the line just keeps going and going i think about 15 times?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 05:59 PM   #18 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

Mine goes by 1 1/2 times only. All I have on autostart is Avast and my calendar application.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 06:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800

My Start up time is
3mins 27 secs
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64

I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 07:05 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NY, USA
Posts: 771

Last time I checked it was 36 seconds for me. I'll see if it's any different now. That little bar goes across 1 and 3/4 times for me.

  • AMD FX 8350 Black Edition
  • XFX R9 390 8GB
  • 16GB (8x2) GSKILL DDR3 1866mhz
  • Aspire X-Plorer Silent Case
  • PC Power & Cooling Silencer 610W Continuous
  • 180GB Intel 520 SSD
  • Vizio 32" TV (1920/1080)/Acer P221W 22" Widescreen LCD (1680/1050)
Twizted_3kgt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.