Your Opinion setup please - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-12-2005, 02:00 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to Oak244 Send a message via Yahoo to Oak244
Default Your Opinion setup please

I need a Mother Board and Video Card replaced in my computer. I really only play Star Wars Galaxy, and World of Warcraft, along with simple games on Yahoo Demand. Let me know what you would suggest for $350 for the two pieces. I run an AMD system and the rest of the system is as follows..

3400+ Athlon 64 939 Socket
2048mb Corsair XMS Platinum Memory
Maxtor 250GB SATA drive
550 Watt Antech Power Supply
__________________

Oak244 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Perfect budget .. get a DFI Lanparty UT nF4 Ultra-D board and an eVGA 6800GS.

$135 + $205 = $340 hmm .. so with shipping and tax it would be about $380.

If you can stretch it to there, awesome, but if not get the MSI K8N Neo4-F motherboard. It's just as good as the DFI except for overclocking.

$80 + $205 = $285 plus tax and shipping makes it about $320.
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

VGA 256-P2-N386 Geforce 6800GS 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130258
$205.00 + $4.00 Three Day Shipping

ASUS A8N5X Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131569
$92.00 + $2.50 Three Day Shipping

or

SOLTEK SL-K890Pro-939 Socket 939 VIA K8T890 ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813180068
$102.99 + $3.99 Three Day Shipping

or

ABIT KN8 Ultra Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813127222
$99.99 + $2.50 Three Day Shipping

You know, of course, that you'll have to reformat and reinstall Windows once you change mobos, right?
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to Oak244 Send a message via Yahoo to Oak244
Default

Ohh really? What if I stick to DFI? I have a DFI NF3 Ultra D now. Will I have to reformat if I go with a NF4 UltraD?
Oak244 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

That I don't know.

Probably, as the chipsets are different.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to Oak244 Send a message via Yahoo to Oak244
Default

Well I think I got most of the info onto my brothers computer that I wanted to keep before it crashed, but not sure. I assume I will loose everything on that drive if I have to reinstall windows huh?
Oak244 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Unfortunately, yes.

Make a list of everything you want to reinstall before you do it, though. And make sure you have to disks to do the reinstalls.

Download Belarc's Advisor (it's free, and small):
http://belarc.com/free_download.html

Run it, and print the results. It will give you complete information about what is in your computer... hardware and software.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 03:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to Oak244 Send a message via Yahoo to Oak244
Default

Ok I have done total reinstalls before so I know what to do.. I was just checking to make sure there was not something out there I did not know about. I have come up with 2 system options.. I will post them for vote in a sec..
Oak244 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 03:09 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to Oak244 Send a message via Yahoo to Oak244
Default

Ok here is my two options I have come up with. Let me know what I should use for the above games mentioned....

Option 1.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491 With http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130247

Option 2.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136152 with http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130258

Whatcha think is best to use on SWG and WOW?
Oak244 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 04:33 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 24
Send a message via AIM to Oak244 Send a message via Yahoo to Oak244
Default

Ohh well I went with options 2. Being I love and trust DFI, it kinda scares me to go with a MB I have never used before. Also I am moving from a FX5900 APG card so I am sure the 6800GS will be a world of difference anyway. I ended up getting it at ZipZoomFly for $20.00 cheaper to boot lol.
__________________

Oak244 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.