Your opinion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-03-2006, 01:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default Your opinion

Thinking about upgrading from whats in my sig to this:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103547

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131530

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814143049

Any opinions? Not looking to switch to Intel because of RAM. If need be, I will get another gig of ram later on.
__________________

__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 05:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

Nice step up. Looks good.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

Just curious why you'd pay $198 for a 4200+ when you can get a C2D for around the same price?? Don't get me wrong, the 4200+ is a nice chip .

Edit: I noticed you said because of the ram. ok
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 12:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

also, this power supply. Anyone have any "beef" with it? My current one will not be able to handle the processor or video card.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153029
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 12:11 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mjmitch2
Just curious why you'd pay $198 for a 4200+ when you can get a C2D for around the same price?? Don't get me wrong, the 4200+ is a nice chip .

Edit: I noticed you said because of the ram. ok
Well, Before I looked at his links I would have said because he didn't want to change motherboard. (Because Thats why I didn't).
But After I saw the Mobo link I couldn't tell you.

I would be interested to see in an depth study between preformence increase compared to money spent for situations such as these.
For example, would it had/have been worth it for me to Buy new ram new mobo just for the C2D or would it have been more cost efficent for me to do what I did. Which is just Upgrade the Proc. No new motherboard or RAM.

I only spent 235 for this upgrade from a Winchester 3200+. And I am quite Happy with it. I will see how far I can OC this once the Burn in time is complete.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

I really all comes down to money. If you have it now to spend, go for the C2D, if not, try for whats in your price range.

or you can do what I did, buy things slowly over a few months when your budget allowed. My rig was bought piece by piece over a 5 month period.
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

OK... as said in first post. I'm staying away from Intel. Every Intel I have ever used/owned has underperformed or caused system issues. Every one of them. My laptop is an intel and I can't stand it. I am constantly getting frustrated with it... my friend has a similar laptop with a different GPU and an AMD CPU that matches mine. That thing blows my intel away during processor tests using sandra 07. They run at the same speed, same cache, same ram, everything.

I'm sticking with AMD.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I know what you said however there are more success stories then stories such as yours. And Im no fan boy, I suggest whatever performs better at that given moment in time.
Ste is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Systems Engineer
 
Crysalis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 1,675
Send a message via AIM to Crysalis
Default

Yea... not trying to be a jerk, but i would just rather stick with what i know works and works well. My friend just bought the 4400+ and the same graphics card and they work wonders together.
__________________
I have a computer with stuff in it.
Crysalis is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 01:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 59
Default

I'm loyal to AMD, and don't plan to change anytime soon. In my previous job I had to fix many computers, and guess what? Everyone that had processor problems was an Intel. It's all personal preference, and I'm not telling people all Intels are bad, but in my experience I have had to fix some of the most gnarly problems I've ever seen. Also, my laptop also runs an Intel chip, and I had to lower the performance settings in the BIOS just to get it to boot. I think it is notably slower than my roommates AMD laptop. AMD runs cooler, has more operations per clock, and I don't plan to buy Intel until AMD goes out of business.

Please, don't post a response like: "But you n00b Intel's are more better than AMD now!!!!!111!!111!!1" I know right now the top of the line Intels blow AMD out of the water; but not everyone can afford a C2D. The AMD single core I run now is cooler and faster than the same model Pentium, and I have NEVER had it act up, even while OC'ed. Plus I don't usually edit video while I'm playing CS:S.

</mini rant>
__________________

Reaver is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.