**** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2007, 10:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Well i just built my PC yesterday with the help of people on here, and i just figured out this morning that i have no sound. I downloaded the lasted driver from gigabyte's website, but no luck. It's showing my speakers and my headphones as 'not plugged-in', although they are. There is also an 'x' by the speaker icon on my taskbar. I'm using the Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Oh god, my advice, install xp, at least for the next few months until sp1 comes out for vista
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 11:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 126
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

I can't, i sold my xp. And i'm sorry for the title of this thread, i didn't realise that dam 'n' was considered profanity here.
__________________
Forever stuck in the learning process

Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.2GHZ
4GB OCZ Platinum
Nvidia 8800gt 718/1061
Nvidia 6200LE
Maxtor 250 GB Sata
Windows XP Pro 32 Bit
650W Coolermaster
Monitor one: Acer 22" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor two: Xplio 17" Flatpanel LCD
Monitor three: Samsung 50" HDTV
Aesrin is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 12:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesrin View Post
I can't, i sold my xp. And i'm sorry for the title of this thread, i didn't realise that dam 'n' was considered profanity here.
lol i know ive done it before dont worry.

Shame you sold your xp cd, could get OEM version of xp for like £50 or $100 i think it is in US
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 12:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Oh...you were saying dam 'n'?

That's the thing with censoring it...then I'm just left to my imagination! I couldn't imagine anyone being so mild with "&$#@ you Vista"....haha.

You sure you got the right drivers for the version of Vista you are using?
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 01:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Make sure the drivers are vista drivers and not xp drivers, perhaps that helps?
Inferno is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

vista is fine, it's an OS
your sound card driver maker needs to make a better driver
or show you how to actually do things right
could be you have things plugged in wrong and are upset over nothing

seriously, a lot of people want MS/Win/Vista to be responsible for everything...shouldn't be so. Tried reading the installation procedure yet? 90% of people don't.
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 01:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 302
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jonny_uk View Post
Oh god, my advice, install xp, at least for the next few months until sp1 comes out for vista
Have they released any information on Service Pack 1, I searched on google and I couldn't find anything on what the update will include or fix. I hope they fix the RAM issues, and all the compatibility issues, and maybe they took out the UAC, cause nobody wants it.
__________________
Current Gaming Rig Running Windows 7 Ultimate
Q9450 @ 3.0GHz 1.200v // Gigabyte EP45T-UD3P // 3GB Kingston 1800Mhz DDR3 9-8-8-24-2T //
Thermaltake Toughpower 850W // 2 Raptor X's in RAID 0 // Antec Twelve Hundred Case
GTX 275 // Xigamatek Rifle 120mm // Creative XtremeGamer X-Fi
dark strike1 is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 02:03 PM   #9 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by atomic tofu View Post
vista is fine, it's an OS
your sound card driver maker needs to make a better driver
or show you how to actually do things right
could be you have things plugged in wrong and are upset over nothing

seriously, a lot of people want MS/Win/Vista to be responsible for everything...shouldn't be so. Tried reading the installation procedure yet? 90% of people don't.
why would I do that much better to stick all the parts in and install vista so all the bells and whistles look shiny
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 11-27-2007, 02:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
saladfork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 181
Default Re: **** you vista! The famed 'mute' problem...

Quote:
Originally Posted by dark strike1 View Post
Have they released any information on Service Pack 1, I searched on google and I couldn't find anything on what the update will include or fix. I hope they fix the RAM issues, and all the compatibility issues, and maybe they took out the UAC, cause nobody wants it.
if nobody wants it then they can turn it off

for the most part people make too big of a deal over vista, its an alright os.
__________________

saladfork is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Problem with spaces in path (Vista) cwright Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-10-2007 09:19 AM
Vista Startup problem worrwhorre Microsoft Windows and Software 5 08-07-2007 09:03 PM
Major problem with Vista (I think) buffer Microsoft Windows and Software 2 07-30-2007 10:09 AM
Vista activation problem Max Power Microsoft Windows and Software 11 07-12-2007 04:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.