You Make It!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-26-2006, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default motherboard questions

i was wondering since i have maxed out my motherboard ram and CPU what motherboard can i use if i keep my video card and 2 sticks of ddr 2700 512 ram plus my antec 400watt power supply
__________________

stinkbomer90 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default motherboard suggestions

i was wondering what stuff should i put in this motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128002
excluding video card and ram
__________________

stinkbomer90 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Why do you want to upgrade it?

What socket pentium 4 is it?
What interface is your gpu?
Is your hdd IDE or SATA?
thebleakness is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

To be honest with you Id say screw it and just ride that system out for a while. Then upgrade everything later on whenever you feel your PC is too slow and you can afford an upgrade. I say this because I dont think putting in more ram will give you a big benefit for video games since its held back by the processor, and the pc 2700 ram speeds.

If you really want though then any motherboard with the socket that your cpu is should work, its probably socket 478 but check.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

what will you be using it for and whats your budget?
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

under 2 grand and hardcore gaming
stinkbomer90 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default

but what sucks is mt motherboard cant take any more speed than 2.28 so i have to pretty much build a new computer
stinkbomer90 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Default You Make It!!!!

ok i got 2k two spend on a gamer machine what should i buy from top two bottom
stinkbomer90 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

3 threads merged...
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 03:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

so thats 2k total? or 2k not including this mobo, ram, and vidcard?

as for gaming, its all about vid card.. if you're not gonna let us choose then what do you need help with? HDD?
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.