Yonahs on Newegg! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2006, 01:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Exclamation Yonahs on Newegg!

OH MY GOODNESS THEY'VE GOT YONAHS ON NEWEGG AND THEY'RE SOCKET 478!!!!!!! I AM SOOOOOOOO TEMPTED!!!!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...TTR14=&ATTR15=

Do intels have superior steppings in the beginning, like AMD?? If you buy one early, will it overclock better?? Can your average s478 board handle these new CPUs??? I swear I'm gonna do it .. I'm gonna do it .. ahahaha I LOVE YOU, SOCKET 478!!!! I could make love to my Prescott right now .. thank you for forcing me to buy a s478 board .. thank you thank you .. I'm sorry I was ashamed of you .. forgive me ..

Part 2: Ooooh, you naughty Yonah. Flaunting your 65nm architecture everywhere. You're a dirty processor. You just want me to drop you into my motherboard and get overclocked 'til you scream, don't you? Yes.
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Im new to intel chips so I have a few questions:

why are these chips so expensive? what makes them so good?

also for that price and only around 2.0ghz? Usualy intel chips have way higher clock rates.

And if these are new series cpus, why are they for the 478?

I thought that that socket was being phased out for the 775.
__________________

__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Well, for one thing they're dual cores. They're also brand-new. I think they're supposed to be more efficient, both in terms of power consumption and in terms of stuff done per cycle. That's why they have a low clock rating.

I don't know about the 478/775 thing, but I don't care. Screw Socket T!

Tell us about intel steppings, gaara! Tell us!
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

LOL dude, they have been out for a while

Don't be confused with the socket 478, they will not work on a normal socket 478 board, further, they will not even work on a 479/Dothan adapter.

The only desktop board out there right now for them is an AOpen board, and that's still only available in Europe and Asia. Actually I am not even sure if it's available there yet to the public or if just people with 'connections' got them

Quote:
why are these chips so expensive? what makes them so good?
As for the price, they are actually kind of price gouging on these right now. They were cheaper when they first came out.

Quote:
also for that price and only around 2.0ghz? Usualy intel chips have way higher clock rates.
These are the first of a new series of chips from Intel. The clock speeds are actually more efficient that AMD chips., so 2Ghz is fast on these. It is more closely based on the P-M (Dothan) chips from Intel which have very efficient clocks. Don't confuse these with P-4 Netburst clocks.

Quote:
And if these are new series cpus, why are they for the 478?
See above, it is a mobile socket and not to be confused with the desktop socket 478.

Quote:
Tell us about intel steppings, gaara! Tell us!
Well, they have already gotten to 3Ghz on air. It beat an FX-60 which was clocked at close to 3.4Ghz.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=157796
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

Nothin to say
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by idiotec
LOL dude, they have been out for a while

Don't be confused with the socket 478, they will not work on a normal socket 478 board, further, they will not even work on a 479/Dothan adapter.
Aww, man. Crash. Why are the chips available if the boards aren't? Anyway, I posted it because a TF search for "yonah newegg" turned up nothing. *sigh* It'll probably be a year before they make a microATX s478 board for those babies. I guess Conroe might be out by then .. Yes. My rig is still new .. to me. I can wait.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ilovesocks
Aww, man. Crash. Why are the chips available if the boards aren't? Anyway, I posted it because a TF search for "yonah newegg" turned up nothing. *sigh* It'll probably be a year before they make a microATX s478 board for those babies. I guess Conroe might be out by then .. Yes. My rig is still new .. to me. I can wait.
Well, it is a mobile chip, so being that desktop boards weren't available at launch is not unexpected, although it would of been nice.

Here is a thread regarding desktop mobo's for Yonah. The AOpen is for sure and should be available in the US this month. No sure about the other one.

http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/...ad.php?t=89403
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819111178
2.0GHz Dual Core processor, with clockspeeds more efficient than AMD (gotta be atleast a 2.2GHz AMD right?) for $423.



http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103546
2.2GHz, Dual Core processor, comparable to the above Yonah for $458.

Now if only they made these for Desktops. These are the Dual Core Opterons of the Intel Mobile world. 3.0GHz Dual Core Yonah would beat a 3.4GHz Dual Core AMD.
Flanker is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:42 PM   #9 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

ya they're only clocked as 2.0 just like the Pentium M's but a PM at 1.6GHz could rival a p4 at 2.4GHz. i think its the same for the core duos
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 03:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 143
Send a message via AIM to sw_freak64 Send a message via Yahoo to sw_freak64
Default

Not bad! I personaly like the T2500 BUT i am an AMD guy and have a few suggestions.....
Go for the Update AMD Opteron 165 Denmark! then youll need a soc939 board...for that i have three suggestions
1> K8n-SLI Neo platnum...great for sli support and good with OCing
2> ASUS A8N32-SLI Deluxe Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce SPP 100 ...
great OCer, cool heat transferance system, and descriptave instaslation support.
and last but definatly NOT least <3> DFI LanParty Expert....Master OCing board, works very well with ValueSelect -or- OCZ, 4GB mem support, HT compatable, GR8 with SLI cards( especialy 7800 GT and GTX, Dualchannel support, and (I think...) the best board right now on the market for expansion and upgrades! Good Luck!!
__________________

__________________
~Dell Demension 2400
~~Pentium 4 2.8 gHz
~~2 x Kingston ValueRAM 1GB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
~~VisionTek Radeon X1300 256MB GDDR2 Low Profile
~~2 x Western Digital Caviar SE 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100

<a href="http://www.nerdtests.com/ft_cg.php?im">
<img src="http://www.nerdtests.com/images/ft/cg.php?val=0848" alt="My computer geek score is greater than 100% of all people in the world! How do you compare? Click here to find out!"> </a>
sw_freak64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.