Yet another build - SAM2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2006, 09:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Petro2342
Default Yet another build - SAM2

Alright so I finally started building my own multi media computer as I've always wanted to. For now its a start but I'll upgrade as time and money are there for me. Im not sure where to post this so mods, please move this if necessary.

Right now this is how my setup is. I just got a cheap CPU and video card to start my pc. I'll be saving up for the new CPU shortly but this shall do as I rack some money in.



CASE ROSEWILL|TU-155 BLACK 400W RT - Retail

MB GIGA GA-M55SLI-S4 NF4 SLI AM2 - Retail

MEM 512M|G.SK F2-6400PHU1-512NR R - Retail

CPU AMD|A64 3500+ 2.2G AM2 512K R - Retail

Leadtek PX7300GS (256MB Turbo Cache Support) GDDR2 PCI Express x16

Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD3200KS 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive


Im not sure if Im missing anything but I think thats it. It ran me a total of $476.39 so far!! I think thats good for now.

Oh, Im also buying a new CD/DVD rom on my next paycheck and also a wireless card for it. Right now Ima use my other CD rom and monitor. Getting a 21" black widescreen samsung for $150 from work!

Here are some pics:














Awaiting my video card and cpu.



Questions, Comments, Complaints?
__________________

Petro2342 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 07:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Petro2342
Default



You guys aren't to friendly to new people here huh?
__________________

Petro2342 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 09:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

o sorry just a slow night, LOL so you say a media center? if so you will need a tv tuner to attach to your cable box or sattelite box. whatever you have, and if you need an OS windows media center edition works well with recording and playing back tv.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 10:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to Petro2342
Default

Yes I do plan on getting a TV Tuner down the road. For now I just want it to start and running. And yea I've tried all OS's from 98 - present and like the Media Center the best. Very smooth OS. I plan on totaling close to 2g on this machine as it will have everything, speakers, bigger monitor, more ram, bigger hdd, etc.
Petro2342 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.