Yay for EVGA RMA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-12-2009, 06:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Talking Yay for EVGA RMA

So I RMAed my 1.5 year old overheating 8800 gtx ( idled at 70 celcius load at 90+ ) on dec 23rd and to my surprise it only took till dec 28th for me to receive the package ( not that it mattered since I was out of the country till jan 10th ). To my surprise when I opened the box up I didn't see the familar black dual slot cooler paint job with the 8800 gtx numbers, but a much nicer design and a 9800 gtx+ instead! So kudos to EVGA for upgrading me, however small the upgrade is. It already boosted my stock 3dbenchmark score from 13397 to 14348 and its idling at a 61 celcius. I still need to do a lot more temp tests to see how much more cooler the card runs compared to a 8800 gtx. Maybe the SATA wire right next to the fan is blocking the airflow a bit so maybe ill try switching SATA ports ( never know why I didn't think of this before )

The main point of this post is to share my experience along with asking if this sort of practice is common or if an unexpected RMA upgrade happened to anyone on these forums? Yay I'm so happy, oh and Kudos to whoever predicted that they might give me a 9800 gtx+ instead of a 8800 gtx in the RMA in a much earlier thread of mine 3+ months back.

PS: Rivatuner reports the core clock/shader domain mhz to be 1675 but isnt the specification listed as clock mhz supposed to be 1836 ( according to wiki? )
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 07:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

Freebies FTW.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 08:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

Not a small upgrade at all.

The 9800GTX+ is a great board.....runs cool, is very fast and comes overclocked straight out the box. Ste the fan speed to a constant 50% with rivatuner.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 08:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

I've RMA'd two EVGA cards over the past few years and got identical replacements for both, unfortunately no upgrade but I can't complain as long as they stick by their warranty.
jfenwick is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 09:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

Yea, I've never seen an upgrade on an RMA, but congrats...that's a killer deal! My guess is the product is discontinued and therefore they didn't have an identical replacement to give you. I always have a good piece of mind when buying EVGA products. Their tech support/customer service is amazing too.
__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

It all depends on how old the item is when you RMA it. If they no longer carry that type of card they will upgrade you to something of equal performance. Good and bad though if you run SLI getting a 9800GTX would kind of suck
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dhgunit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 690
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
The main point of this post is to share my experience along with asking if this sort of practice is common or if an unexpected RMA upgrade happened to anyone on these forums? Yay I'm so happy, oh and Kudos to whoever predicted that they might give me a 9800 gtx+ instead of a 8800 gtx in the RMA in a much earlier thread of mine 3+ months back.
That is called good business practices.

Who will you purchase your next card from now? Of course it will be eVGA after that.......I am also in the same boat of buying every nVidia card from eVGA.
__________________
Antec Twelve Hundred :: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Watt :: EVGA X58 3X SLI
Intel Core i7 920 :: Zalman CNPS9900LED :: SLI: EVGA GTX 260 Core 192 SSC 896MB and EVGA GTX 260 Core 216 896MB
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3x2GB) DDR3-1600 :: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB (2x1TB in RAID0) :: Hanns G 28" LCD Monitor


dhgunit is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

thanks for the feedback guys, did anyone know the answer to my one PS question though?

Rivatuner reports the core clock/shader domain mhz to be 1675 but isnt the specification listed as clock mhz supposed to be 1836 ( according to wiki? )

Oh and can u just switch the SATA prong on a HD or is there any other OS setting you have to set?
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 11:48 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
ricanflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 6,317
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

the shader clock goes in hand with the core clock.

If you have a lower shader clock, all you need to do is turn it up with rivatuner. Im pretty sure the superclocked edition has the higher clock, and you have the regular.

Doesnt matter, one is factory oc'd and the other isnt thats all.
__________________
3DMARK06 = 20,341 (3.8GHZ)



Laptop
P7350 | GTX 260M | 4GB DDR2 800 | 320GB HD | X-Fi | Vista 64

Folding Rig/File Server

M775 | E1200 | Foxconn P9657AB
| Dual 8800GT | Antec NeoHE 500 | Barracuda 80GB | Wintec Ampx



ricanflow is offline  
Old 01-12-2009, 03:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Yay for EVGA RMA

that's great! gotta love freebies...support from EVGA is usually great. You just got the card though because it's old and they probably don't sell them anymore.

the clock speed does sound right though...just look around on other websites to find out for sure. and remember: wikipedia is horrible if you want 100% right information :|
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asus rma ? v8killaz New Systems | Building and Buying 5 12-11-2008 02:26 PM
How do you get an RMA from ASUS? dhgunit Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 11-01-2008 05:42 AM
RMA goodness Trotter Off Topic Discussion 35 08-21-2008 09:40 PM
first time doing RMA Chrysamere Off Topic Discussion 9 12-26-2007 07:18 PM
RMA upgrades CntdwnToExtn Off Topic Discussion 1 09-26-2007 11:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.