XPS 600 Renegade: Comments, anyone?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2006, 07:56 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 003
Would you like to post your source on that? because last I checked, the top end G71 had 32 pipes and the R580 had 48. AFAIK, that hasn't changed.

Someone on here posted the link, and you can't deny the mark05 scores.

Pipes dont mean everything.
__________________

__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Ive seen this in a few threads already but its a complete waste of money IMO. There isnt anything that could utilize that much power. I dont like the paint on it either.

BTW Did anyone read the last comment on that link? lol :beard:
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 09:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kitire
Someone on here posted the link, and you can't deny the mark05 scores.

Pipes dont mean everything.
Pipes do mean quite a lot for a Video card I heard. So what makes a video card strong then? Not the clock speed, not the memory speed and now not the # of Pipes???
Hovertime is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 11:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

well, the way the things work isn't just by quantity of pipes. Sometimes, a cycle can do more than one thing at time.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 11:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Not to mention it uses a pentium 4. I got 10 bucks saying that an Fx55 can CPU beat it.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 02:16 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the 512MB 7800 GTX's will apparently be discontinued after G71's launch
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.