XPS 410 Video Card Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2007, 11:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default XPS 410 Video Card Upgrade

I have a Dell XPS 410:

E6600 @ 2.4Ghz
2GB Ram
350 GB hard Drive
Origional PSU @ 375w

I am looking to get a GeForce 8800 GTS. Which one of these would be the best choice, regardless of cost? I am just worried about the stock PSU.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...226&CatId=2514

OR

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...836&CatId=2514

OR

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=P450-8016

The last one is 320mb, but it has faster clock speeds???
Thanks.
__________________

N-Kush is offline  
Old 02-27-2007, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

go with second one but might want to upgrade PSU
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default

You are not going to run an 8800GTS on a stock dell PSU with 375 watts. Your going to need to spend at least $50 on a PSU that will work and I suggest getting the 320MB version of the card as the 640 as the extra memory only helps when you have a monitor larger than 22 inches. I think actually it's closer to past 24 inches.

So get this card. eVGA are the best name in Nvidia cards and this one is slighly overclocked from stock speeds, although it doesnt mater since you can overclock it much higher.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...230&CatId=2669

and then for a PSU get something like this
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...599&CatId=1079
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I have read through many dell forums and have read that many people have been able to run the G8800 GTS on their stock XPS 410 PSU.

Appearently the dell PSU's put out 30 - 40% more power than stated.


Also, the XFX 8800 GTS 320mb XXX still has higher clock speeds then the EVGA 8800 GTS 320mb overclocked.
N-Kush is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 12:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Evergreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by N-Kush
I have read through many dell forums and have read that many people have been able to run the G8800 GTS on their stock XPS 410 PSU.

Appearently the dell PSU's put out 30 - 40% more power than stated.


Also, the XFX 8800 GTS 320mb XXX still has higher clock speeds then the EVGA 8800 GTS 320mb overclocked.
I highly doubt that a dell PSU is going to be more powerful than what's stated... HIGHLY doubt it. Infact, I highly doubt that any powersupply has that high of a mark up than what's stated.
__________________
DOLLA DOLLA DOLLA BILL YALL
Evergreen is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 04:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Here's what I found...

http://www.dellcommunity.com/support...thread.id=9208

I am going to get this one...

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...&sku=P450-8016

Will my games play at max settings???

(COH, FEAR, BF 2142)
N-Kush is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I just ordered the XFX GeForce 8800 GTS 320mb XXX, and from what I've heard will be fine with stock PSU.

I currently use a GeForce 7300 LE 512mb.

Where will I see the biggest differnece?

Are there any tricks for getting the most out of my card as possible?

Do I need to change game video settings or does this happen automatically?


Thanks for all your help.

N-Kush is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 06:50 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

lets see biggest differences in everything haha and graphics will pretty much all be max i sure
__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 07:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Whether or not your card will run your games at max settings depends on what resolution you play. But as long as it's not anything crazy, I wouldn't think you'd have a problem with it.

And I don't care what people say. You are taking a pretty darn big risk in my opinion trying to get that card running on your stock PSU. Because you're going to feel stupid if your PSU goes out and takes that nice vid card with it.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.