XMS2 or Dominator? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2006, 12:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default XMS2 or Dominator?

Hi, I recently sold a Nintendo Wii on ebay for my parents and made them a good bit of money. I let them have all of that money so they could just get me some nice RAM for christmas.

I was thinking of 2GB DDR2 800 PC2 6400 Corsair XMS2. It costs $300:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034

But, while trying to print the link for my parents, I came across this. CORSAIR XMS2 DOMINATOR 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail $315

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145168

Is the dominator ram any better? The one thing I notice is the much bigger heat sinks. Will this help out alot more with cooling? If it does, I think it justifies the $15 price difference. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 01:40 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

that IS the only difference lol. only get the dominators if u plan on OCing them until theyre on the brink of catching on fire. or if u want to get the domintor fan for 30 bucks. but ram heat still isnt that much of a problem.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 01:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

appears to be the same thing with different heat sinks... prodcut names are the same ( TWIN2X2048-6400C4 vs. TWIN2X2048-6400C4D), and timings are the same as well...
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Yeah, they're the same thing, just different heatsinks. As far as I know, both of them use Micron D9 chips, so they overclock the same too.

G.Skill 2GB DDR2-800 HZs are better than the XMS, but they're out of stock. Those overclock better, and are more stable. Not saying the XMS is bad in any way, the G.Skill HZs and the XMS are both overclocking favorites. The G.Skill's just known to overclock farther (DDR2-1066 isn't uncommon).
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Yeah everytime I see an awesome looking deal for G. Skill RAM it's always out of stock >.<
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 04:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
darkop16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 553
Send a message via AIM to darkop16
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TriEclipse
Yeah, they're the same thing, just different heatsinks. As far as I know, both of them use Micron D9 chips, so they overclock the same too.

G.Skill 2GB DDR2-800 HZs are better than the XMS, but they're out of stock. Those overclock better, and are more stable. Not saying the XMS is bad in any way, the G.Skill HZs and the XMS are both overclocking favorites. The G.Skill's just known to overclock farther (DDR2-1066 isn't uncommon).
agreed ...but too bad my e6600 won't boot into windows with 9x401 fsb at 1.45vcore, then i could start to use the d9 chips...they're just yawning right now .

But i did get them for $260 like 2 months ago...the ddr2 ram price is really jumping up there. Probably the only bad thing about the conroes coming out
__________________
CPU: e6600 @ 3.2ghz
RAM: 2GB G.Skill HZ PC6400
Mobo: ASUS P5B Deluxe
GPU: Sapphire HD4870
Soundcard: Creative Labs X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty
HDDs: 250GB WD + 750GB WD + 2x1TB WD
Monitor: Samsung 226BW
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 600W
Case: Cooler Master Stacker
OS: XP Professional SP3
Mouse/keyboard: Logitech MX518/Saitek Eclipse II
Speakers: Logitech Z-2300
darkop16 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 04:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by darkop16
The ddr2 ram price is really jumping up there. Probably the only bad thing about the conroes coming out
I know! The memory market's in such bad shape right now! Memory prices went like $50 higher for everything as soon as the C2Ds came out. Its like this one person that I was designing a PC for said, "Its a sad day when your memory costs more than your processor and motherboard combined."

I remember when you could buy the DDR600 2GB G.Skill HZs for $150...those were the days.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 06:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Did DDR2 800 prices go up because since people all wanted C2D, the demand went up for that memory?

By the way I told my dad that I wanted the Dominator one, we'll see how it does. I know a good friend that also uses XMS2 DDR2 800, but without Dominator heatsinks. He OCs his quite a bit if I remember, and it gives no problems.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 07:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

That's probably the reason for the memory price hike. Though, all I know is that we're now paying 1.5x what we were paying a year ago.

And do you like wasting money unnecessarily? We told you they were the exact same thing. Heatspreaders are quite pointless, even on high-end memory. And those are the only thing that the Dominators have over the regular XMS2.
__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 08:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Sorry? So I wasted 1% of a $1500+ build. Chill bro, it's not the same as me trying to go quad-sli or buying DDR2 1111 RAM.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.