X86 sbc options - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2015, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: America
Posts: 12
Default X86 sbc options

Hello everybody,

After doing a moderate amount of digging without much luck, I was hoping someone could point me in the direction of a single board computer with an x86 processor, something like raspi, cheap, clean, and open source.

A little more info: I need a small form factor board that run WinXP, has HDMI output, usb 2.0 output, micro SD storage. Like I said, basically a raspberry pi with an x86 cpu. Cheapest one you can think of.

Thanks braintrust!
__________________

rhinotekmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 01:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: X86 sbc options

Why an x86 CPU? Most 64bit processors contain x86 instruction sets.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 08:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Night Ninja
 
MidnightShadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 776
Default Re: X86 sbc options

Also, why do you need to run WinXP? Raspberry Pi is about as cheap as you're going to get. I didn't search very hard, but here's a link to a starter kit: Raspberry Pi 2 Model B (1GB)
__________________
MidnightShadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: America
Posts: 12
Default Re: X86 sbc options

Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightShadow View Post
Also, why do you need to run WinXP? Raspberry Pi is about as cheap as you're going to get. I didn't search very hard, but here's a link to a starter kit: Raspberry Pi 2 Model B (1GB)
Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Why an x86 CPU? Most 64bit processors contain x86 instruction sets.
c0rr0sive - I meant I need a board with a CPU that has x86 architecture not that I need a board with a x86 specifically.

MidnightShadow - I need to run WinXP because I am trying to run a non AppX application (.exe application) so Windows IoT is not going to work, also I don't want to run this application natively, so that means I can't use an emu. Raspi has an ARM processor, so it can't run .exe apps because the instruction set is different.

I know that there is MinnowBoard, Intel NUC board, Intel Galileo, but I just figured I would reach out and see if anyone knew of something cheap.
rhinotekmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 09:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: X86 sbc options

As an FYI, OP had this thread in the Linux board previously:
ARM OS that can execute
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 09:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: America
Posts: 12
Default Re: X86 sbc options

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
As an FYI, OP had this thread in the Linux board previously:
ARM OS that can execute
Carnage you mentioned BRIX last time. Do you know if you can get only the board, i.e. without the casing?
rhinotekmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 10:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: X86 sbc options

Not that I can see.

It's not really marketed towards being a "developer" board like RPi's and such - more of just a very compact PC.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2015, 04:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: X86 sbc options

Hmm... Would one of those Intel Compute sticks work if you stripped XP of un-needed components...?
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to run Vista x86 and Win7 x86 see more than 4GB of Ram Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-19-2009 08:27 AM
SBC DSL - Wireless Router Pilotwings119 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 03-22-2005 08:16 PM
SBC dsl problem DarkExploit Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 15 03-15-2005 04:59 PM
SBC Yahoo DSL Users - Help! quietb05 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 02-07-2005 07:32 AM
SBC Yahoo DSL unbornzodiac Internet Software and Browsers 10 06-29-2004 02:06 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.