x850xt is ****ing me off (drivers possibly) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2006, 12:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default x850xt is ****ing me off (drivers possibly)

OK well I uploaded a video of my problem with the description off to the side so please help me... all help is appreciated. BTW I reformated my pc too. With Catalyst 6.9 --->
With Catalyst 5.5 --->
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
hickfarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 357
Send a message via AIM to hickfarm Send a message via MSN to hickfarm
Default

That sucks a lot.

Get a 350$ video card instead. LOL
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 x2 5000+ BE Zalman 9700
OCZ 700 watt Power Supply
2x1 gig OCZ 800mhz dual channel ram
Custom John Deere
DFI Infinity NF UlTRAII-M2 motherboard
20" Benq Monitor
320 gig Seagate hard drive, 1000gig internal Western Digital, 500gig MyBook
My John Deere Case==> http://hickfarm.com/blog/?cat=7
hickfarm is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Yea it makes no ****ing sense I am gonna go crazy!
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 03:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

how long have you had the card and how much did you OC it? from what I saw, I had the same issues with my original 7900GT. I oc'd it too much and burned it... the sysmptoms your having are VERY similar to what I had...

did you try rolling to the (I think) 6.4 driver... one of those 6 series had some servere issues at one point.. I think it's thew 6.4 that was stable again... If not then can you try the card in another machine? or another card in yours?
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 09:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nukem
how long have you had the card and how much did you OC it? from what I saw, I had the same issues with my original 7900GT. I oc'd it too much and burned it... the sysmptoms your having are VERY similar to what I had...

did you try rolling to the (I think) 6.4 driver... one of those 6 series had some servere issues at one point.. I think it's thew 6.4 that was stable again... If not then can you try the card in another machine? or another card in yours?
I did not OC it. I tried rolling to the 5.5 driver (look at video). I was gonna put on the 6.9 drivers and then see if my card is doing it again then put my old card in and then test it to see if it is doing the same thing...If it is then it is my drivers if it isn't it is my card (somehow some way) we think it may be power due to the connector I am using.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

ATI having driver problems? O RLY?
The General is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
ATI having driver problems? O RLY?
Was that supposed to be sarcastic?!?! (BIG joke) what made it worse... Nvidia jumped on the whole "console mode" and screwed up their drivers for a while...
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 12:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Mjmitch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 152
Default

Have you tried the Omega Drivers instead? also, what size is your PSU? Maybe its not getting enough power??

If this doesn't help, then the card was definitely blown somehow. See if you can RMA it or just return it to get another card.
__________________
"Every great adventure is started by a single step"
------------------------------------------------
C2D e6300 @ 2.8Ghz w/ Zalman 9500
Gigabyte DS3 mobo
GeIL DDR2 800 (2x512)
EVGA 8600 GTS 256mb
WD 80GB SataII & WD 250GB SataII
MadDog DVD-CDRW 16x dual layer
Dual Acer 22' LCDs
Ultra X2 550 watt
Ultra Blue Aluminus ATX Mid-Tower Case
Mjmitch2 is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default

told yas! ati drivers are t3h suck, nvidia drivers pwn!

leet dude speak off



for the record...

my geforce 4 something with 128 megs of ram displays doom3 fairly decently over my 512 x1800xtx. Albeit of course the geforce is on my xp and the ati on my vista. But we'll just go ahead and say it's that.

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 06:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Well I got the Thermaltake pure power 560watt PSU... Havok believes that it is my power connector I used since it isn't totally the correct one... I am gonna try to grab one that is 100% correct and try it again.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.