X800GT vs. X800Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-08-2005, 05:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Badboy
Default X800GT vs. X800Pro

So,
I know I want to go with ATI because the game I play likes ATI more . Americas Army is that game.. BUT Ive originally had the X800Pro in mind, but Ive seen alot of you talking about the X800GT. Now the Pro is MUCH more expencive so im assuming its better but I cant find any bench marks. Here is the links to them on Newegg...

SAPPHIRE Radeon X800PRO 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 VIVO PCI Express x16 Video Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102496

I actually found 2 different cards that are the X800GT..

SAPPHIRE Radeon X800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131420

POWERCOLOR Radeon X800GT 256MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814131420

So which is better out of the X800GT's? Then, which is better out of the better X800GT and the X800Pro? Thanks, and if you could show me some bench marks it would be appriciated. Also, Im not going Nvidia. lol.

Thanks,
Taylor
__________________

Badboy is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 05:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

http://www.legionhardware.com/html/doc.php?id=451

use this and add it with this

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...524/index.html
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

X800GT is 8 pipes and X800 Pro is 12 pipes. X800 Pro is much better than the GT, but it can't come close to matching the Nvidia 6800 GT which is the same price as the X800 Pro. Basically, if you can afford an X800 Pro, you'd be stupid to buy either of those cards. Get the 6800 GT.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Americas Army isnt exactly an ATI game, after all were you a player back when it was Nvidia sponsored?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Badboy
Default

beedubaya: LIke I said though. Im playing Americas Army and having an ATI card gives me a little advantage due to shadows. I love Nvidia but getting into the top teams and such, I need to be armed with an ATI.

DJ-CHRIS: I never said it was an ATI game. Nvidia may run better with AA, but I want/need the shadows that ATI cards have in AA. I actually am running an Nvidia Geforce Ti4200, and before that I had a MX440. This would be my first ATI. Oh, and Ive been playing since the first year it was out. Ive been in a few top teams, and now im trying to get into a top 3 team. With that, I need a better PC.
Badboy is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Badboy
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beedubaya
X800GT is 8 pipes and X800 Pro is 12 pipes. X800 Pro is much better than the GT, but it can't come close to matching the Nvidia 6800 GT which is the same price as the X800 Pro. Basically, if you can afford an X800 Pro, you'd be stupid to buy either of those cards. Get the 6800 GT.
I just noticed something..

In your specs you have the X800 Pro, why do you say that Ide be stupid if you have the X800Pro and not the 6800GT?
Badboy is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Shadows? Like the 6800GT doesn't have them? Come on, get realistic.

And going from a Ti4200 to a 6800GT would be like going from 10mph to 150mph, the difference is amazing, ESPECIALLY with shadows and AA...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Badboy
Default

I never said the Nvidia doesnt have shadows. Its just a well-known bug in Americas Army that ATI card show shadows darker and more "prominant" (Is that the word?). Thats why I would prefer an ATI card. Maybe if a Nvidia BLOWS MY MIND FOR THE PRICE, then I could consider. But then again, I would prefer ATI.
Badboy is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Your decision, but your going to regret it if you ever want to get FEAR or BF2, etc...
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 09-08-2005, 06:52 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Badboy
Default

I want to play BF2, HL2, CS:S, and Americas Army on it.
__________________

Badboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.