x48 DDR2??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2008, 10:33 PM   #1 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default x48 DDR2???

__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

wow that chart is all wrong my x38 mobo supports 1600fsb, and the x48 asus rampage formula is ddr2.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 12:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
stalin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

ya i was supprised to see that the rampage is ddr2 and doesnt do crossfireX
__________________

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

^^^ thats stupid...

but I thought the x48 actually had some edges over x38
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 02:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

The x48 is identical in every respect to the X38...they have just been speed binned so will most likely clock higher.

Having said that, I am using the X48 Rampage bios on my X38 P5E and can do 470fsb so far....which isn't bad at all.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

couldn't you try emulating x48 bios on to a x38 boards?

like Rampage BIOS on a Maximus?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

Emulating?

I already said, I have a P5E, which is basically a Maximus...and I'm using the Rampage X48 bios. Lots of extra tweaks
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 03:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

wow I didn't catch that bottom part because you left the spacing and I didn't scroll down enough.. lol brain fart delete plz
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

i dotn see it with any advantages itl probably post like 20fsb more the nan x38 thats about it,
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: x48 DDR2???

well its advantages will be 600 fsb for sure. I don't own an x38 but I don't think all of them will be able to post that high. Maybe a handful.
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ddr2 vs ddr3 jobmitsuo New Systems | Building and Buying 6 03-03-2008 01:49 PM
DDR2 800 vs DDR2 1200 masteroc New Systems | Building and Buying 18 12-21-2007 01:09 AM
DDR2 - Memory Module Kit? zx666 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-27-2007 09:04 PM
does any 200pin ddr2... fastrandstrongr New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-03-2007 11:47 AM
would a ddr2 533 work on a motherboard that supports ddr2 800?????? siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 04-27-2007 10:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.