X2 temputure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2006, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default X2 temputure

Hello,

Just built first rig. Working fine.

However just wanted to see what you think of the CPU temputure.

I'm seeing about 44 at idle. Hopes to about 47 while underload, i.e- watching rendered animation and encoding compressing dvd.

I have a ASUS A8N32 SLN
X2 4200
Artic Cooling 64 Pro (which was differcult to install, but the termal paste seemed fine)

Motherboard is reporting 40-42 degrees.

I'm not worried by the tempuratures. i have good case cooling. Wondered if it will get cooler as the termal paste hardends.

Only thing that bothers me as i'm no using standard cooling, so the passive cooling on the mobo might not be as good. Although the bottom fins of my artic cooler do face it. I've heard that the mobo being warm can cause adverse effects to the CPU temp.

Does this sound ok?
__________________

marty111 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 05:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

you are fine bro

the a8n32(which i have ) is quite alright
you see that copper heatsink that goes across your board? its made so you dont need a lot of standard cooling

i love the board

oh yeh your temperatures are fine. consider more fans if you are worried about the heat inside your case!
__________________

__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 06:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

do you have thermal paste? if u dont get Arctic silver 5 and put it on ur CPU, if u need more info on the application process look it up on google, or i think AMD has it on their website. and get 1 exhaust fan or intake fan whichever u lack. if u do that, which would cost you a total of about $15, you should be idle below 40.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 08:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 430
Send a message via AIM to tehdigit
Default

unless you are overclocking your processor shouldnt overheat

AMD's stock cooking parts are PERFECT for the chip it comes with

or else there would be a lot more hatred toward amd
__________________
Jordan
#nTi
Nothing to It
@gamesurge.net
Sponsored by Subway, Steel Series, XFire, Xsessive Hosting

<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/6241/userbar543957wu.gif><A>
<A HREF=http://ubanimator.com><IMG SRC=http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/1992/userbar544009id.gif><A>
tehdigit is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 09:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

does any1 know if i can remove the southbridge and northbridge chip cooler things on a asus a8n-32? I'm buying a water cooling system that has the blocks that go on those, just want to make sure.
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-05-2006, 09:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
Get like 1 or 2 cold cathode lights, that should reduce it by a few temps. if u do that, which would cost you a total of about $20-$25, you should be idle BELOW 40.
what!?!? they aren't actually cold, they are relatively speaking when comparing to neon though. as far as i know cold cathodes won't lower temps. although i will gladly retract this statement if i am wrong.

those temps seem a bit high to me. even on stock cooling unless you have absolutely horrendous air flow in your case or a boiling house at stock speed it should idle in the low 30's and max out at about 44-46 degrees
Nitestick is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 12:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

yeah cold cathodes don't take away heat from your pc. they're actually kinda warm if you touch them, they're just for maaaaaaaad looks
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:28 AM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

actually people have posted on this and other forums that they have. one guy installed 2 cold cathodes in his computer and it lower his temps by 2degrees, maybe it was something else but thats what he said happened, i've read other reports, but maybe it was another element in the works. if im wrong i retract my statement.
john3 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 10:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Default Thanks

Thanks for your replys, all sounds fine good good :-)

I just used the termal paste which was already applyed to the cooler. I wouldn't mod it now its installed.

In fact i've just disconnected a side case fan which has made my mobo 3 degrees cooler and my cpu has droppped alittle. - So i think it was interfeeing with the fans

Only thing left is i'm having abit of trouble reading in the floppy drive so i don't think i've got too many troubles.

Also considering tubes regradless of the heat gain. I think they are warmish if anything. They don't run cooler than the atmospshere temp. The reason they are cold is they don't produce much heat i think

Thankyou

P.S- sorry spelling is poor
marty111 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 11:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

you shouldnt have a it above 40 idle. get an exhaust fan, that was probably ur problem, you have more intake fans then exhaust and the airflow was f'd up. by an exhaust fan and add that side fan again and see what happens. and then try it without the side fan but WITH the extra exhaust fan.
__________________

john3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.