Which X2 should i go with. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2005, 03:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 45
Question Which X2 should i go with.

Is it worth the extra $97 to get the 4400+ with the 1mb of L2 cache or stay with the 4200+ with just the 512 cache.

I was planing on getting the 4200 but am having second thoughts.



http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=343
__________________

jake14430 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I own the 4400+ I love it. I know the cache doesn't make much of a difference but...

A simple slight overclock can rise you to 2.4 Ghz with the exact same cache level as the X2 4800+. This means you have the same speed and same cache as the 4800. Again this is a slight overclock and only rised my idle CPU temp by 1-2 C I haven't tested it enough to see it under a stress test I may do so tonight. I think it's great saving you 300 USD right there!
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 20
Default

I thought so, I went with the 4400 when i built my system. My opinion is if you have the money you should get it. Thats my 2 cents.
dubbs is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 04:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Get the 4200+. Same overclocking as the 4400+.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

The 4400 has the better core, but they're all pretty good. I'd actually go with an opteron 165 or 170, they're very good dual cores at about the same price and the OC like mad. Tho it's getting harder to find them now.
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 05:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Get the X2 3800+ and then OC it, save some money and buy some nice OC'ing ram or a better processor.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mk97
The 4400 has the better core.
Nope, both Toledo.
Flanker is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

4400+ and 4800+ are Toledo based, all others you're looking at Manchester. There are rare occurances where you will stumble across a 3800/4200/4600 based on the E6 Toledo where half the cache is broken however these are rare...the majority of these and the technical "official" core of the 4200+ is the Manchester
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 06:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 240
Default

Yay, I ment that the 4400 is the only one in a reasonable price range that has the toledo. Lol why spen an extra $300 when you can OC the 4400 to a 4800?
__________________
In The Mail!!!!- Athlon 64 3500 @Stock/Abit K9N SLi sAM2/2GB G.Skill DDR2 800 @Stock /XFX G7900GT XXX 520/1500Mhz/74GB Raptor w/ 16mbcache/300GB 16mbcache SATA HD/NEC DVD-RAM Burner/OCZ ModStream 520watt psu/ThermalTake Armor Jr./Logitech EX110 mouse/keyboard
Mk97 is offline  
Old 12-29-2005, 07:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

yep get the 4400 the extra cahce will just be like BOOM HEADSHOT!!! all over the 512 cache
__________________

__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.