X2 Opteron in gaming? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 07:51 PM   #21 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

right, this is it now. i think i'll be buying soon, and i can't see any problems with what i have now. plz tell if there is anything that you think needs changing.

Antec p180 case
AMD Athlon 64 x2 4400+
OCZ MODSTREAM POWER SUPPLY 520W
DFI LAN-Party SLI-DR
SONY DRU000A CD/DVD-RW
SONY DDU161288B DVD drive
SATA II Seagate 160gb
SATA Seagate 250gb
MSI 7800GTX, 256MB
G.Skill Value DDR 2Gb, 2x1024mb
Zalman CNPS9500 CPU Cooler
SilenX 120mm Fan 14dBA
Logitech G7 Laser Cordless Mouse
Saitek Eclipse Gaming Keyboard
Zalman ZM-RS6F Headphones
Creative Audigy 2 ZS

is all well and good?
thanks
__________________

Zer4tyr is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 07:57 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Looks good.
You may want the x-fi instead of the audigy though. It will be better.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102188
I know you discussed this already, but you might want to get an opteron because there arent gonna be any more s939 any more. Just something to think about.
__________________

Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:10 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

what do you mean?
Zer4tyr is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:23 PM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=82023
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:36 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

so..... you think get an opteron, because soon you won't be able to buy them in s939?
Zer4tyr is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:39 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

If you want to get one for overclocking this is your last chance. Either way it will be a kick *** computer either way. You may want to get one just for bragging rights or something. Maybe have a more "valuable" computer.
Personally my 3700 can get to 3GHz from a base of 2.2GHz and thats as far as someone with an opteron got so i dont really see the difference, but im not an expert.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 08:51 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

well i think i won't be able to get an opteron anyway. i i'll be buying about the start of Jan, and they'd probably all be gone. If they're not, i'll get one, but i think i'll be out of luck by then.
Zer4tyr is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:45 AM   #28 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

well, no-one else is saying anything, so i'm assuming all is good. Thanks.
Zer4tyr is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 11:34 AM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,842
Send a message via AIM to lazerman Send a message via Yahoo to lazerman
Default

Just ordered my dual core opteron last night yay!
__________________

__________________
The Stargate MMORPG
lazerman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.