X2 or not to X2 THAT is the question - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2006, 05:36 AM   #21 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

i'd say your first because of your raptor....
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:38 AM   #22 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 52
Default

Actually thats new, lol. Ive always beleived it was my CPU as Ive hasd that the longest.
__________________

TermyBGL is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 05:50 AM   #23 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think there is a massive misconception amongst this forum that dual cores are slow and un-overclockable. they overclock about as well as any single core (granted it is a little trickier) and even the slowest AMD dual core has enough grunt on one core to handle current games
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 06:04 AM   #24 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

I think you already made up your mind, but dual core is the way to go. I currently build computers for some of my friends and I offer dual-core only so they don't come back to me in 2 months and get ****ed that I got them a single core.

The $100 difference may seem a little harsh right now, but in a year, or even half a year, you will be seeing games and programs that take advantage of dual core! It's worth it!
__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 12:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

well in a year or half a year... there will probably be 65 nm amd dual cores... while amd has they're conroe.... oh how technology sucks... idon't want to have to upgrade to be up top.... guess i'll stay in the middle
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 01:04 PM   #26 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
well in a year or half a year... there will probably be 65 nm amd dual cores... while amd has they're conroe.... oh how technology sucks... idon't want to have to upgrade to be up top.... guess i'll stay in the middle
Umm AMD doesn't have the Conroe.. The Conroe is Intel's. Sorry to correct you on something so small (or it could be big), but I thought you should have your facts straight.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 01:22 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NosBoost300
well in a year or half a year... there will probably be 65 nm amd dual cores... while amd has they're conroe.... oh how technology sucks... idon't want to have to upgrade to be up top.... guess i'll stay in the middle
Hah, shows what you know about processors. I'd say you should go learn more before you starting arguing with me about whether the GPU keeps up with the CPU or not.
Green Radience is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 01:56 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 201
Send a message via AIM to Orayn
Default

I would opt for dual core, personally, knowing that more and more multi-threaded games are coming out. A really fast single-core is good too, don't get me wrong, but I like to plan ahead.
Orayn is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 02:21 PM   #29 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 651
Send a message via AIM to tommyboy123x
Default

dual core definatelly...
__________________

Dollar Hauler [dot] Com :)
tommyboy123x is offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 10:30 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Do you think a X2 3800+ would be sufficient for gaming? (BF2, HL2, CS:S, SC:CT)
__________________

__________________
\"Our only purpose here on earth is to breed, and breed we shall\"-Random ol\' uncle AL.

Cdiablo
Callan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.