X2 or not to X2 THAT is the question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-28-2006, 11:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 74
Question X2 or not to X2 THAT is the question

I need help, do i use a Athlon 64 San Diego 4000+ 2.4Ghz or a Athlon 64 X2 4200/3800 Manchester 2.2Ghz/2.0Ghz because im worried if i go dual core it will be too slow for my gaming needs (BF2, HL2 HDR, Splinter Cell Double Agent) what your opinion?

Cdiablo
__________________

Callan is offline  
Old 04-28-2006, 11:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

Right now the single core will game faster. The x2 is more future proof. If you want performance right now and dont mind buyying a new chip in a few years go with the san diego. (for gamming)
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 74
Default

Thanks very much i was gonna go with a 4000+ San Diego and then upgrade later. Thanks for confirming.

Cdiablo
__________________
\"Our only purpose here on earth is to breed, and breed we shall\"-Random ol\' uncle AL.

Cdiablo
Callan is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 12:35 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
Default

its only a 200mhz difference, will that really improve the gameplay that drastically over a dual core?
__________________
<font face="Symbol">™</font> 175 Opertan CPU
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Raptor 150gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> WD Caviar 750gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ DDR500 Plat 2gB
<font face="Symbol">™</font> DFI Lanparty nF4
<font face="Symbol">™</font> eVga 7950GT KO
<font face="Symbol">™</font> OCZ GamexStream 700w
<font face="Symbol">™</font> Big Typhoon Cooling
KlNGPlN is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 04:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
its only a 200mhz difference, will that really improve the gameplay that drastically over a dual core?
not really. i fail to see why people keep saying dual cores are slow. i mean the lowest clocked dual core is 2x3200+ cores (the opteron 165 is roughly this as well). and considering the number of people i have seen buy a 3200+ and a high powered video card, well i just can't see the disadvantage
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 05:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
not really. i fail to see why people keep saying dual cores are slow. i mean the lowest clocked dual core is 2x3200+ cores (the opteron 165 is roughly this as well). and considering the number of people i have seen buy a 3200+ and a high powered video card, well i just can't see the disadvantage
couldnt agree more.. i recently ordered a 4200+ dual core and awaiting it any day ::P
Tordenskjold is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 05:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

I think the new PhysX PPU card requiers a dual-core processor. So, if your a gamer, You better go dual-core.
__________________
DBD is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:13 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

The only advantage that the 4000 San Diego would have over say an x2 3800 or 4200 is larger L2 cache. 1mb L2 cache vs. 512kb L2 cache on each core of the x2.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,130
Default

so technically its the same.........get a dual core......you can OC it as well..........so........i dont see how a dual core is bad.......some people are so close minded "oh, games only use single cores, so why waste money on dual core?" CAUSE ITS THE FUTURE!
john3 is offline  
Old 04-29-2006, 09:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

for the money you're going to get a faster single core chip than a dual core but thats irrelevant because a 3200+ CPU will play any game in existance just fine when paired with a good graphics card.

There is no good reason not to go dual core, over the next couple of years soft is going to start more and more advantage of multi cores, that includes games.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.