X2 5200+ or E6600 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-11-2006, 09:06 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

e6600. so funny you would even compare those cpu's. lol
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 09:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well if K8L is to be based on adding a 4th complex/simple instruction decoder i think AMD shall regain the upper hand in overall performance because of the ability for each decoder to swap modes. unless they shorten the pipeline though the C2D would still win in some individual things.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 09:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

I was just asking because they are roughly around the same price
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 10:17 PM   #14 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Ya but that e6600 would make that x2 5200 wet itself, have a emotional breakdown, and go crawling back to its processing plant where it cam from.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 10:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

lol ^
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 10:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kenyon, Minnesota
Posts: 405
Default

Its true, and if you want bang for the buck, E6600 reigns supreme, unless you want an FX-62, which will cost you far more, than lose to it anyways.
Inferno is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 07:51 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Wow, thats a toughy... [sarcasm]

Obviously if your getting the mobo/RAM/CPU than ofcourse go with the E6600. I just bought mine and I am currently waiting for it to come.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 10:54 AM   #18 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Agreed with everybody else...e6600 FTW!
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 05:08 PM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

i'm going to say the 5200. ya i'm a rebel like that
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 12-12-2006, 05:42 PM   #20 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fade2black2004
k8l isnt anything spectacular its just something amd is going to put out to COMPETE with the core 2 not beat just compete.

and am3 isnt supposed to come out for a long time
3rd quarter 2007 is the supposed release of am3/kl8.
but yeah, if you've got re-do your whole rig, go conroe. unless you want to wait and see what amd pulls out of the bunny hat next year. i'm with murdax, amd's not dead and i will stick with them until am3 at least and see what happens...unfortunately they just don't have those wicked cool commercials with people breakdancing, lol.

hey, general... ! sometimes you gotta love even the underdog, chill out!
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.