X2 4400+ -or- pent D 940 ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-18-2006, 06:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 139
Default X2 4400+ -or- pent D 940 ?

for my next cpu i've narrowed my choices down to these two. both dual cores, both around the same price, but different manufacturers. i'm planning to use it Mainly for gaming, video/image editing, and general multitasking. so plz recommend one, thx.


intel pentium D 940 3.2Ghz 800Mhz FSB 2x2Mb L2 cache
athlon 64 X2 4400+ 2.2Ghz 1Ghz FSB 2x1MB L2 cache
__________________

heffer is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 06:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

Get the 4400+. It propably performs pretty similarly to the 940 with multitasking and video editing. Since most games do not support duel core CPUs (and thus only use one of the cores), I would still rather get the 4400+, cause AMD beats Intel when it comes to games. One thing I recommend is to rather get the AMD 4200+ instead which can easily be overclocked past 4400+ speeds, and saves you money in the end. Just my opinion though, wait to hear what some of the other guys think!
__________________

__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I would stick with the 4400, as it has the 1mb of L2 cache, where as the 4200 has 'only' 512, if you do, do that you may as well go for the Opteron 165 and overclock to the 2.7ghz.


http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.ht...=75&model2=321
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 07:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Chazzer3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North West, UK
Posts: 449
Send a message via AIM to Chazzer3
Default

Hi, definitely the 4400+ over the intel, but I'd reccomend the 4200+ as well, as there are only extreme cases where you'd notice the difference about the Cache, and they are the same speeds I believe.

As well as this, if you are interested in Overclocking the 4200+ is very nice, even with stock cooling! This way you'd save money and end up with an equal or faster cpu!

Charlie -
Chazzer3 is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 659
Send a message via AIM to KCRMYZ Send a message via MSN to KCRMYZ
Default

X2 4400+ Enough said "D
KCRMYZ is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

4400 hands down.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:19 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

4400+ no contest
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:46 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 559
Default

If you go to this page http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.ht...=63&model2=236 you will see that the difference between the 4200+ and 4400+ is only 10 secs, and in most other benchmarks, it follows the 4400+ with a really small margin. The BIG difference though is the price. The 4200+ stock still beats the Intel D 940, but it is a lot cheaper than the 940 (and the 4400+). Just my .02
__________________
AMD64 X2 4400+
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
2GB Kingston Hyper-X (2-3-2-6)
TT Big Typhoon
eVGA 7900GT KO Superclocked (650/1650)
250GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA2 HDD
Hiper Type-R 580W SLi PSU
19" Sony Trinitron CRT
magouster is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 738
Default

The Intel doesn't even come close to the 4400.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @2.6 ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
2gb Corsair XMS DDR400 RAM
ATI Radeon x1950xt
MSI RD480 Neo2 Crossfire Mobo
Western Digital 160gb SATA HDD
Fortron 450 watt PSU
KINGWIN SK-523BKP Case
Logitech MX518 Gaming Mouse
NeedAcpu is offline  
Old 04-18-2006, 11:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,499
Default

To the people that said about the 4200+. dont get it, as Trifid said it only has a 512mb cache whereas the 4400+ has 1mb cache. I got the 4400+ just last week overclocked it up to 2.6Ghz so Thats same as the fx-60 speed and is a good price too. You got to buy this, none other.
__________________

Mentali$T is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.