X2 4200 and 4400 differences? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default X2 4200 and 4400 differences?

Other than the price is there a "real world" difference between the 4200 and 4400. I know there's a cache difference but is that worth $100 more in the 4400?

X2 4400 $497
X2 4200 $400
I think those are the prices.
__________________

BColes is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

X2 4400 = L2 Cache: 2 x 1MB
X2 4200= L2 Cache: 2 x 512KB
__________________

__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

From what I've heard it doesn't make a HUGE difference between the 1meg cache and the 512....

Thats what I've heard anyway
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

yes it does
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

hm...... well I thought I was told that from U lol! ops nvm then....:?
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:40 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 171
Default

Get a 4400 X2! thats what I'm getting and I'm always right.................
__________________
Performance Rater
| Amd 4400 X2|74gb Raptor|DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 SLI-DR|eVga 7800 GTX|ZALMAN CNPS9500 LED|G.SKILL Extreme Series 2GB|NZXT Nemesis Elite|Antec TPII 550 Watt PSU|
Sp4rtan is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

Get a dual core socket 939 opteron 165... its $290 on monarch computer, and it has 2x1mb. it will also overclock to the speed of the 4400+ with ease, more than likely even faster.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 317
Default

Sp4rtan

.And your reasone to get the 4400 X2 is?
__________________
Pyro Haro
Building my computer thread
harobikes333 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

350 on zipzoomfly
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...ctCode=80106-R

450 on newegg
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103588

i cant find it on monarch
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 05:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 426
Default

Oh woops i think most of you forgot to read the first post.
__________________

__________________
I\'m happy with it.
X2 4400+
ATI X1800 XT
2x1gb Corsair XMS CL2
1 Raptor 74 gig
ABIT AN8 Ultra
OCZ Powerstream 520w
BColes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.