x2 3800+ - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-08-2006, 08:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 455
Default x2 3800+

is the x2 3800 REALLY REALLY FAST even tho its on the bottom of the x2 chain link...
__________________

123Justin is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Yes, its a dual core for a great price, though i would spend a little more and get the Opty 165 with the beefed up 1MB per core L2 cache and with a little OC it will be faster then the X2 3800+
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

I'd rather see you spend a bit more and get a X2 4200+ but the X2 3800+ is a great entry level Dual core.

Entry level may also be misleading *** even the 3800+ has blazing fast speeds and I hear that some people can get fairly good OC's with it.


Either way you cannot go wrong
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

Get the Opteron 165, OC it to 2.4 GHz, and you have an Athlon X2 4800+ equivalent!
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 586
Send a message via AIM to infiltrator7
Default

sorry to change the topic a bit, but i have the athlon x2. if i want to use both cores do i need windows x64, or can both cores work in the 32 bit version?
__________________
If you're interested in joining a MOHAA clan, send me a PM.

JOIN THE 24 ZONE FORUMS
infiltrator7 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Check here for details but yes a 32 bit OS will be able to run 64 bit and multi threaded applications taking advantage of a Dual Core CPU just the operating system will not take advantage.

Also the Opt165 is not on par with the 4800+ because you will have to up the voltage to reach that by a high level than it's stock volt. The 4200+ can achieve this at stock volt if your lucky and will only need a small vcore increase to reach the 4800+ level with less heat giving you a longer lifetime on the processor no need to fry your nice new CPU.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by infiltrator7
sorry to change the topic a bit, but i have the athlon x2. if i want to use both cores do i need windows x64, or can both cores work in the 32 bit version?
U will need X64 to make windows use both the cores... but if u have a dual core supporting game you dont need x64 for it to run on both cores. X64 just makes the general running of windows use both cores.. windows 32bit only uses 1 core.



In reply to Tylers post.

There is no X2 4000+... It goes 3800,4200,4400,4600,4800. But there is an AMD 64 4000+.

I would get the 3800+ or 4400+. The 4200+ is just the 3800+ clocked 200mhz faster... and the 4800+ is just the 4400+ clocked 200mhz faster.

But the diff between the 3800/4200/4600 and the 4400/4800 is the 4400 and 4800 have 2x1Mb Cache while the 3800/4200/4600 only have 2x512kb.

I just had a quick look to make sure i was correct and i spotted the 4600.. i did'nt even know it existed.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

The cache I was told doesn't make that big of a difference but it is something to consider.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 02:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 769
Default

Yeah the differance between 1mb and 512k is'nt really noticeable. But when u thing bout it 2x512kb is 1mb... and 2x1mb is 2mb so with the 4400 and 4800 your getting an extra MB.. im sure that is noticeable.
__________________
Sprooty is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 07:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Yes, i have mine running 2.5 here and there. Most of the time its at 2.4 though. I have my Vcore set at 1.55 and im getting moderate temps. Couldnt ask for more.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.