x1950pro 512mb AGP8x - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 02:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

alrite guys, i just placed an order for the enermax librty 500w
22a on dual 12v rails.

i also ordered 2 'rounded' IDE cables.

i know this is kinda off topic, but is this the right cables for my pc?

i have 2 'ribbon' cables id like to replace, theres like, 2 connectors on each ribbon...one 'ribbon' is connected to 2 of my dvd drives +mobo.... and one 'ribbon' is conneted to my harddrive +mobo.

is the 'rounded IDE cables' ive bought the right ones? thanks!
__________________

enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 07:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 213
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

Get the Fortron 400W
__________________

__________________
Athlon X2 Brisbane 3600+ @ 2.91Ghz
Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro
Biostar TForce 550
2GB Wintec AMPO DDR667 @ 831Mhz
Connect3D X1900GT Rev.2 580/1602
Hitachi Deskstar 80gb SATA + 80gb WD Caviar IDE
Fortron FSP Group 400W (18A/16A 12V)
http://service.futuremark.com/orb/re...=0&UID=9889664
5122 in 3DMark06
rx7i2 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 06:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

also, how much will my rig bottleneck my graphics card?

pent 4 3.0ghz /w HT
2gig ram

will there be any noticeable improvements from my previous 6800gt, and (after my 6800gt fried), my current 7300gt card.

because i really want a nice Half life 2 : episode 2 experience on high details with widescreen resolution (22" monitor) when i get my hands on it. I was devastated when i found out i played the whole of half life 2 on a fx5200 on DX8 mode. T_T.
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 06:41 AM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

You'll see a pretty good performance boost from the 6800GT. I have the 256mb x1950pro, coming from a 7600GT. The the difference was quite noticeable, with higher resolutions. I can play HL2 easily at 1680 x 1050 maxed out. Maybe that's because I got a C2D...but the bottleneck, shouldn't be much with your components.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-30-2007, 07:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

thanks for the advice b1gapl, i knew there was gonna be some sort of bottleneck, but i was really worried i wouldnt notice a signifcant differnece from my previous cards. (gotta get my $200 dollars worth!! )
__________________

enthusiast1917 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS 320mb or 512mb 7950GT?? Raze664 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-05-2007 07:55 AM
Overclocking the 7600GS 512mb XFX PNY akasixcon Overclocking and Modding 8 05-20-2007 08:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.