x1950pro 512mb AGP8x - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2007, 02:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

Hi, after the recent fried-age of my 6800gt , i bought a x1950pro 512mb (its coming in the mail).

i have a thermaltake 400w psu that came with my tsunami dream case.

i was wondering if this PSU would be enough to power my x1950pro

the other things my psu powers are...

468socket pent 4 3.0ghz
2gig ram
1x 160gb harddrive

thanks !!

(it has 17a on the 12v rail )
__________________

enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

i think it should.
__________________

ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

i cant seem to find the recommended PSU for the x1950pro 512mb agp anywhere...:/
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

i read that the recommended psu for a GTX is 450 watts. so i think you should be ok.
ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 02:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

thanks!. i read otherplaces people recommended 450W or so...but they usually had dual core pcs, 2-3 RAID harddrives and the like...i hope my PSU will manage to accomodate my humble system.
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 218
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

your welcome.
ollithemagicbum is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,732
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

I read that the min power requirements were 30A on 12v rail and 22A on both rails if its a dual rail PSU, but of course these numbers are exaggerated, and yes these are the official requirements from sapphire.


BTW i've heard some people running thses cards on 18A rails, but it also depends on the quality of your PSU, also dont you have at least a cd-rom drive on ur comp?
TheEnd187 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 03:31 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

i see, thank you for finding that out. (im not too good with google)

should i try my x1950pro AGP on my computer anyhow? see if it works and plays games? will this damage it??

also, in the case that it does work perfectly fine; play my games fine...; should i keep using my PSU (17a on 12v) to power it? (eg. will my x1950pro break after a year or so??)
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 06:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 100
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

my psu is thermaltake xp480...came with my case...not top of the notch quality...and i have 1 cd-rw drive + 1 dvd-rw drive in my case...what do u guys think??
enthusiast1917 is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 06:30 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: x1950pro 512mb AGP8x

if uve only got 1 12v rail with 17A dun think ull be gettin anywhere fast. i think having a under powerful psu can damage all ur components if sumthin goes wrong.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS 320mb or 512mb 7950GT?? Raze664 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-05-2007 07:55 AM
Overclocking the 7600GS 512mb XFX PNY akasixcon Overclocking and Modding 8 05-20-2007 08:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.