X1950 Pro Overheat - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2007, 08:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default X1950 Pro Overheat

Hi i was just wondering weather the newer manufactured X1950 Pro's from Sapphire still overheat, i was going to get a 7900gs but prices have lowered on the Sapphire X1950Pro to just 10p more than the 7900GS, but i have heard the Saphhire X1950Pro (without the Zalman Cooler (not the ultimate edition X1950pro) overheates a lot.

do the later manufactured one's still have the problem ? as the Zalman cooler one is still 25 pounds more.




Thanks
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 09:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

it still does overheat, atleast the ones from sapphire do.
you want a good x1950 pro then look at this-
http://www.club-3d.com/

but i really would suggest a good 7900gs, it will serve you alot better then any ATI card will, and it wont overheat....just my two cents!
__________________

__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 11:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Hmm yes ok but Nvidia just cant match the power of ATI cards for the same price the 1950Pro is the same price but still up to 20fps more.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

I ordered the Sapphire x1950PRO the day it came out. Ever since I built on Dec. 25th, I've been great. I used to crash, but it's because I had bad drivers. I used Windows to delete everything ATI related including drivers, and started all over again and downloaded everything from sapphiretech.

Concerned about heat? I run rivatuner to crank my gpu fan speed to 100% when I game. But in my opinion, that should be done no matter what card you have. My card is just chillin' right now at 43C.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 04:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Meh ok then. Anyway i found the HIS X1950 Pro IceQ3 Cooler edition for 10 pounds less than the Sapphire and ive ordered it now.

Just 6 days till my pc comes ! Finally.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-30-2007, 07:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default

Good. For maximum safety, I'd recommend not even touching the Catalyst disc that will come with the vid card. Just go to Sapphire's website (sapphiretech.com i think) and find their Catalyst+drivers there. Those are flawless for me. Have fun, you're going to love your card. I know I love mine
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 02:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default

Ok Thanks
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 01-31-2007, 04:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
DBD
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 333
Default

You can get the ATI catalyst control center and drivers here
http://ati.de/support/driver.html

click on the OS you have
click on Radeon
click on X1950pro
click on the Go button

you only need to download "option 1" (if you want the CCC)

Good Luck!
__________________

__________________
DBD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.