X1900XTX vs. 7950 GX2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-22-2006, 01:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default X1900XTX vs. 7950 GX2

Searched many places and can't find this exact comparison. THis is the best Anandtech review I can find but doesn't include the X1900XTX.

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=2769

This one doesn't include GX2 (but has XTX vs. 2x 7900).
http://www.anandtech.com/mb/showdoc.aspx?i=2797&p=1

I want to know which is better and I'll get that. I hear the XTX runs hot and a bit noisy. The price difference is a non-factor.

Also, does Asus PW5 DH Deluxe support GX2? Still a bit confused.

nVIDIAs site says it does not (since mobo not listed):
http://www.nvidia.com/content/geforc...r=asus&sortBy=

If this is the case I'll get the ASUS P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe.

So which card wins??

RM
__________________

__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default

http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards....=378&card2=432

id go for the 7950GTX2, and im pretty sure it'll support it.
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

thats scarcely a fair fight, get an extra x1900 in xfire and then it'll be a fair fight... the 7950 is just 2 7900gt's on one pcie slot (more or less)
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

cwiz,

Yeah you are right, but my limit is ~500 for a GPU setup. Basically it's XTX for me or GX2. Just wondering.

RM
__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:28 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

7950GX2 if I were you.
The General is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

According to this XTX kicks the crap out of GX2.
http://www.dailytech.com/article.aspx?newsid=3878

Is this legit... ?

RM
__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Thats an X1950XTX, not out yet, and those benches are rigged by ATi...

EDIT: Wow! Those benches are way off! LOL
The General is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 58
Default

The General,

Yeah both 1900 and 1950 XTX are in there creaming the GX2 big time (sorry didn't specify earlier).

So will the GX2 work with that PW5 Asus mobo? Reading forums on anandtech and it seems like it does, with the right BIOS version. I'm about to just get the ASUS P5N32-SLI SE Deluxe and not have to worry about it.

RM
__________________
RIG: Core2Duo E6700 | ASUS P5W Deluxe | eVGA 7950GX2 | Corsair XMS2 2GB
WD Raptor 10K RPM 36GB | WD Caviar 200GB | Scythe Ninja | Logitech G15
Aerocool ExtremEngine 3T | OCZ GamerXStream 700W | Viewsonic 19\" VX922
Microsoft Intellimouse Optical Black (old school fo sho!)
RhythmMgmnt is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 996
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by cwiz
thats scarcely a fair fight, get an extra x1900 in xfire and then it'll be a fair fight... the 7950 is just 2 7900gt's on one pcie slot (more or less)
Sorry to barge in, but I was REALLY sure the 7950GX2 is actually two GTX's, was I wrong?

-Jo.
Yoad is offline  
Old 08-22-2006, 03:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

It's two 512mb 7900GT's.

And yes, the 7950GX2 will work in that motherboard. I don't even need to look it up ... because if it has a PCI-E slot then it will work.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.