x1900 stutters - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2006, 11:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 742

Originally posted by john3
all i can say is WOW u r rich!
I hate when people do this ****.

wtk pro l is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 03:23 AM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

sometimes, 4GB of memory can actually slow down the system more than it helps.
currently, no game uses more than about 1.3-1.5GB at a time (at max settings)

other than that, what drivers are you using? I would try omega drivers.

also, have you tried each card on its own?

Apokalipse is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 05:19 AM   #13 (permalink)
There and Back again
Nukem's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 4,334

I would try going into safe mode and uninstalling ALL video drivers. reboot... let the system come back up and install the driver again. you might want to also go back a driver. maybe this update doesn't like your system for some reason... go back one and try that.

If it still studders, then check something stupid like the connector. Sometimes pins are missing that are needed in some cards... swap the cable out. I have to do it with my DVI cable... My monitor didn't like the pin settings, I guess... Hope it helps.

Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70
NZXT Source 530 / i7-3770K / Corsair H100 / ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / SoundBlaster Recon3d
Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSD/Seagate 1TB/2TB/WD 2TB
4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 2133 / PNY GTX 980 ti/ Seasonic M12II 850W
Nukem is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 05:29 AM   #14 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010

Have you installed your chipset drivers? With out these games are stuttery.

It may be worth running memtest on the RAM, as that can also cause stutters if it isn't very healthy.

I can't remember what the number was, but the newest drivers 2 weeks ago were rubbish from ATI. I had to sort out 2 PC's which had them causing restarts.

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 04:25 PM   #15 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

Originally posted by meefle
Have you ever had an ATI card and used their drivers. IF not, then you cant say **** about them. I'm sick of hearin ppl say they suck, they dont, they may not be as good as nvidias, but they dont suck. If you cant get help here, try the DFI street forums or XS.
Ever had to use ATi's Linux drivers?

Didn't think so.
The General is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 05:22 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495

currently, no game uses more than about 1.3-1.5GB at a time (at max settings)
BF2 and Fear on Vista need ~ 2GB (I know we are just talking about XP though, just had to prove you wrong for once in my life xD)
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 06:12 PM   #17 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

Just Vista needs 1gb. So yeah, Vista+<game-that-uses-more-than-1gb> = more than 2gb.
The General is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 07:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
jseber1982's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982

alright so i will take out 2 gb and try the omega drivers. yea Bios only even recognizes 3gb of mem, maybe it is screwing the thing up. And no im not rich, i just sold a lot of stuff on ebay. And im not a teenager like a lot of ppl on this forum,, no offense lol. Been to college and all.

Thanks for the help guys
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 07:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

What are you going to do with that 2gb you're taking out? I have 2gb but i'd like 4gb.

I'll take it off your hands if you like.
The General is offline  
Old 06-24-2006, 08:52 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274

Hey man, I own an X1900XT and the thing flies, I have all my games on max settings and they never skip a beat. I am using 2GB of RAM because that is optimal. Anymore than 2 and you are looking at a waste of money and the computer actually becomes a bit slower because it gets confused. YOU DONT NEED 4GB, lol.
And another thing... you cannot crossfire and X1900XTX and an X1900XT together. There has to be a mastercard, which runs at the same speed as the X1900XT to get technical. So yeah, lose 2GB of that RAM and setup the crossifre properly. You dont even need 2 of those cards to be honest, especially where you also have 2 7900GTX cards. One of either brand is more than enough for todays and tomorrows games. This may be an untreated case of "more money than brains" LOL, jk... but let us know how it works after removing 2gigs and fixing the card setup

Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.