X1600 PRO on 300watts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2006, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default X1600 PRO on 300watts

will the X1600 PRO run welll on a 300 watt PSU?
__________________

__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 01:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

no, there will be random restarts and ur card wont perform at its fullest
__________________

__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 01:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

you'll never know until you try!!! i ran my 6800 gs on 350 watt.. so i say you give it a try it you already have it!
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 01:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 686
Default

yah lol, i ran my 7800 gt on a 380 watt psu
__________________
slick_tech15 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

I've got my 6800 vanilla on 300, but it's an Antec.
__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:47 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Thats a high end card, i really would not recomend it. Either upgrade to a better PSU or risk it. But risking it could fry quite a few components.

Any PCI-E machine is already strained on 300w.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 11:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 396
Default

X1600 PRO AGP not pci-e
__________________


quest1on is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 02:42 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Really? I didnt know ATI brought out AGP versions of their Cards. Did Nvidia do the same?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 03-05-2006, 02:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

Yes, they came out w/ the 7800GS. Really been gone that long eh?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now  
Old 03-05-2006, 03:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

yeah, 7800gs whoa!

its like the freezer geezer out of the simpons
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.