X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2008, 12:03 AM   #11 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working

Try another cheap Sound card, to in a way reset the system and make it recongize another device.

Then once it sees it, turn off computer and try the old sound card and same slot and turn on.

is it still under warranty?
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferarri View Post
Wow I feel stupid. You were right luke. Thanks for your help guys.
Didn't I say it first?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working

no problem


EDIT: I told him directly to disable the onboard sound peter.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:14 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Pinscher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working

Well either way... it started to work and then the creative program crashed froze my comp so i restarted it and my computer doesnt recognize it again. I reinstalled everything again and still no luck.

Ste,
unfortunately i don't have a cheap sound card to throw in there but yes it is still under warranty, i believe. I only bought it a couple months ago.
__________________
Pinscher is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working

Well, what I meant by audio settings correct is whether his BIOS is using onboard or the card.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 12:41 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working

it doesn't matter, apparently it didn't work.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 03-23-2008, 01:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
M.C. Etcher
 
Grievearz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Gainesville FL
Posts: 321
Send a message via AIM to Grievearz
Default Re: X-Fi Extreme Gamer stopped working

When you restart does your BIOS have the on-board sound enabled again? Could be a bad CMOS battery or something if your BIOS is resetting.

-Side note, Luke, I have family in Sudbury. I've been there once and it was far too cold.
__________________

__________________


Maybe I'm a Lion...
Grievearz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vista, Keyboard And Mouse Stopped Working LOL_NESS Microsoft Windows and Software 10 03-05-2008 08:38 AM
DVD Drive stopped working benjpe88 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-26-2007 05:08 PM
Sound Randomly Stopped Working? gamerz Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 07-20-2007 09:34 AM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
X-Fi Extreme Gamer is Wayy Too Quiet!! Metalhead666 Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-27-2007 12:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.