x-fi=better fps? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default x-fi=better fps?

Would I notice a fps difference in games with a x-fi sound card then onboard?
__________________

Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 07:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 25
Default

Yes, but very minimal.
__________________

Jeff is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Yes there would be a difference but would it be noticable I can't say.

CPU handles your logic
GPU handles your graphics
APU handles audio


Integrated Sound and Video are clearly not as good as their independant versions and do not hog system memory. Most GPUs will have 256 or 512 gddr3 memory if it's new today and the X-Fi processors if I remember correctly have 64 megs of memory.

This doesn't take up vital system memory but again does anyone trully need 64 megs of audio memory? The X-Fi Processors also re-sample music seemlessly using it's 24-bit crystalizer to make mp3s sound better than the origanal bloated CD files.

Will you hear a difference yes, will you see a differences in fps logically it helps but will you notice probably not.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 10:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 419
Default

no you wont. u know that when u take a fps average u get 67 fps then take it again and u get 68 fps. well with an xfi u get 68 fps. No u wotn get a increase.
efd753 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 765
Default

Yeah but an X-Fi is apparantly an amazing sound card. I'd get one if I could afford it Would be a step up from Realtek im sure.
septoid2 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Waphlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ohio, United States
Posts: 1,976
Default

Only the X-Fi fatal1ty has 64MB of X-RAM but it only gives about 1 or 2 average FPS over a system without it. But it costs more then double of the Xtreme Music version and isn't worth the price tag.
Waphlez is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,289
Default

According to Creative games will take advantage of the X-ram later on. Im still using a LIVE and have no problems w/ it.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 12:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Beefcake
Only the X-Fi fatal1ty has 64MB of X-RAM but it only gives about 1 or 2 average FPS over a system without it. But it costs more then double of the Xtreme Music version and isn't worth the price tag.

Anything with the name fatal1ty in it isn't worth the price
Shumway is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:21 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

I have the X-fi Fatal!ty and I don't see any FPS increase. The only game that supports it so far is BF2. Granted, the card sounds really freakin' good... but an increase in FPS, I just don't see.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 10:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 378
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by septoid2
Yeah but an X-Fi is apparantly an amazing sound card. I'd get one if I could afford it Would be a step up from Realtek im sure.
I'm pretty sure that the only thing the X-Fi is really superior for is spatial imaging (which is good for gaming) and processing lots of sounds at once (which is also good for gaming). I doubt that the actual sound quality will be much better than any decent internal card, and definitely not for the price. If you're on a budget, go for the Chaintech AV-710, or if you've got a bit of money, an EMU.
__________________

__________________
ilovesocks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.